How I Got Here

Chat about various topics.

How I Got Here

Postby no00dylan on Thu Dec 30, 2010 8:34 am

I've recently been inspired by a post on Interlopers.net that links to a video by Day9, a StarCraft player. In this video he talked about his almost obsession with StarCraft and how it positively impacted his life. I thought I'd do the same, but mine will be more like a documentary styled rambling, or a ramble styled documentary, we'll see later on.

I began life as a gamer like a lot of people these days, with Nintendo. Me being born in 1993, I started playing Mario games, luckily for me we had the Super Mario Bros. All stars pack, so we got to experience just about all Mario had to offer at that time. Also Duck Hunt, our lightguns never, ever worked and we couldn't find any that did. As far as we knew, working lightguns didn't exist. Also I think it's worth mentioning that we were pretty broke. We were a family of four living in a trailer with two very under paid parents, so if I was playing games that seem a bit too old, you know why. We played a ton, it was really the only thing aside from cleaning to do around the house, and getting my family together to do something fun that we all understood was great, and I miss those days. Then, one stormy night, tragedy struck, lightning. Somehow lightning hit our house, which killed our system completely, and I was devoid of gaming for quite awhile.