Respawn's new game is on Source Engine

Chat about various topics.

Re: Respawn's new game is on Source Engine

Postby ScarT on Sat Jun 29, 2013 11:10 am

joe_rogers_11155 wrote:I wish I could watch over their shoulders over at the Titanfall Ranch, and snicker loudly every time Hammer crashed.

They've got the source code thus the ability to fix crash bugs. Most of them are just checking for NULL pointers and whatnot but Valve seems to be too lazy to do anything about it.
User avatar
ScarT
Senior Member
Senior Member
 
Joined: Sat Apr 02, 2005 7:33 pm
Location: Denmarkian Land

Re: Respawn's new game is on Source Engine

Postby joe_rogers_11155 on Sat Jun 29, 2013 3:44 pm

In that case, I wish I could just watch over their shoulders at the Titanfall Ranch.
"Day breaks, but decay soon follows." - Ava Winona
Currently developing in radio silence... 99 Bolts
Here's another project of mine... Assault on Overwatch
Are you new to Source SDK? VDC
joe_rogers_11155
Veteran
Veteran
 
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2008 11:11 pm
Location: United States

Re: Respawn's new game is on Source Engine

Postby srredfire on Sun Feb 16, 2014 3:51 am

Super bump, but did anyone else get into the beta? I got in and played about an hour of it. It's very impressive looking, especially for the Source engine. The movement and dynamics of it are very fluid and open feeling. It's fast pace and a good amount of fun, but it's definitely not $60 worth of fun.

This would have been great for the $20 range, but an exclusively multiplayer game, on Origin of all things, isn't going to draw me in. The shame is that I feel like it'll be $60 for awhile too. Oh well!
User avatar
srredfire
Veteran
Veteran
 
Joined: Sat Jul 22, 2006 10:44 pm

Re: Respawn's new game is on Source Engine

Postby ScarT on Sun Feb 16, 2014 4:32 am

I got into the beta but I don't have time to play it, so I've let Cyborgmatt borrow my account. If you don't want to pay full price you can just buy it on intkeys.com for $52.
User avatar
ScarT
Senior Member
Senior Member
 
Joined: Sat Apr 02, 2005 7:33 pm
Location: Denmarkian Land

Re: Respawn's new game is on Source Engine

Postby DoxC on Sun Feb 16, 2014 5:13 am

just goes to show source engine isn't dead end for AAA games.
DoxC
Member
Member
 
Joined: Fri Jan 10, 2014 5:44 am

Re: Respawn's new game is on Source Engine

Postby Gary on Sun Feb 16, 2014 7:53 am

DoxC wrote:just goes to show source engine isn't dead end for AAA games.


All they had to do is rewrite... almost everything!

But yeah, this game does seem pretty cool. I'll pick it up when it's cheap. ( Not because of this particular game, I am just a cheap-ass and anything short of HL3 is not on my buy-at-full-price list )
Have a question related to modding or something I posted? Something that needs staff attention? I haven't been active lately, but feel free to PM me or message me on Steam(link below)

User avatar
Gary
Interlopers Staff
Interlopers Staff
 
Joined: Wed Dec 16, 2009 12:40 am
Location: USA, FL

Re: Respawn's new game is on Source Engine

Postby Xyos212 on Tue Feb 18, 2014 5:41 pm

I have played the beta a few hours and I really enjoy it. It really feels very different and new with the wall running/jump jet combat along side the titans. Definitely picking the game up. Incredible stuff they have accomplished with their modified version of source.
Avatar images are 130x130 - Please refer to the Forum Rules.
Xyos212
Regular
Regular
 
Joined: Tue Aug 15, 2006 11:00 pm
Location: North America

Re: Respawn's new game is on Source Engine

Postby Knights on Tue Feb 18, 2014 11:47 pm

Gary wrote:
DoxC wrote:just goes to show source engine isn't dead end for AAA games.


All they had to do is rewrite... almost everything!

But yeah, this game does seem pretty cool. I'll pick it up when it's cheap. ( Not because of this particular game, I am just a cheap-ass and anything short of HL3 is not on my buy-at-full-price list )
That's what I heard too, they picked this engine just to have something to quickly prototype and show something. They mentioned that engine has been heavily modified...
Image
Random gallery... Knights_Stuff.
Home page --> http://www.knights.interlopers.net/
User avatar
Knights
May Contain Skills
May Contain Skills
 
Joined: Tue Aug 01, 2006 4:35 pm
Location: In a van down by the river

Re: Respawn's new game is on Source Engine

Postby amckern on Wed Feb 19, 2014 2:27 am

I have an access code for Xbox beta - I down own an Xbox let me know if you would like it(no pm)

I did have an access code to PC - but added it to origin - sadly I need a 64bit OS (Not going to happen)
Image
NightFall Source Code - http://nightfallmod.com
User avatar
amckern
Pheropod
Pheropod
 
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2004 3:26 am
Location: Sydney, Australia

Re: Respawn's new game is on Source Engine

Postby DoxC on Wed Feb 19, 2014 3:02 am

amckern wrote:I have an access code for Xbox beta - I down own an Xbox let me know if you would like it(no pm)

I did have an access code to PC - but added it to origin - sadly I need a 64bit OS (Not going to happen)

Wait whaat. You need 64bit to play. WTF . :(
DoxC
Member
Member
 
Joined: Fri Jan 10, 2014 5:44 am

Re: Respawn's new game is on Source Engine

Postby amckern on Wed Feb 19, 2014 5:51 am

Sadly yes
Image
NightFall Source Code - http://nightfallmod.com
User avatar
amckern
Pheropod
Pheropod
 
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2004 3:26 am
Location: Sydney, Australia

Re: Respawn's new game is on Source Engine

Postby zombie@computer on Wed Feb 19, 2014 10:20 am

People in 2014 still use 32bit OSs? :shock:
When you are up to your neck in shit, keep your head up high
User avatar
zombie@computer
Forum Goer Elite™
Forum Goer Elite™
 
Joined: Fri Dec 31, 2004 5:58 pm
Location: Lent, Netherlands

Re: Respawn's new game is on Source Engine

Postby DoxC on Wed Feb 19, 2014 11:22 am

zombie@computer wrote:People in 2014 still use 32bit OSs? :shock:

Lol, well i do. 32bit FTW
DoxC
Member
Member
 
Joined: Fri Jan 10, 2014 5:44 am

Re: Respawn's new game is on Source Engine

Postby Ale on Wed Feb 19, 2014 1:07 pm

DoxC wrote:
zombie@computer wrote:People in 2014 still use 32bit OSs? :shock:

Lol, well i do. 32bit FTW


What is so win about 32bit?
Image
User avatar
Ale
May Contain Skills
May Contain Skills
 
Joined: Fri Jul 29, 2005 9:03 am
Location: Earth

Re: Respawn's new game is on Source Engine

Postby Guessmyname on Wed Feb 19, 2014 7:22 pm

...There isn't much really. I'm in the 32-bit rut here too and keep hitting the RAM ceiling all the damn time.
User avatar
Guessmyname
1337 p0st3r
1337 p0st3r
 
Joined: Sun Mar 27, 2005 10:38 pm
PreviousNext

Return to General Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users