Guy remakes opening train station of HL2 in UDK3

Chat about various topics.

Guy remakes opening train station of HL2 in UDK3

Postby ThePain on Thu Apr 03, 2014 11:14 am

Image
Image
Image

link to source
http://www.polycount.com/forum/showpost ... count=3431


This really just spurs me on to keep learning UDK4....
It's quite simple really. I want to be a professional level designer. I want this to be my job.
User avatar
ThePain
Been Here A While
Been Here A While
 
Joined: Sun Dec 14, 2008 6:21 am
Location: Virginia

Re: Guy remakes opening train station of HL2 in UDK3

Postby DoxC on Thu Apr 03, 2014 11:55 am

remake this in goldsrc, next gen.
DoxC
Member
Member
 
Joined: Fri Jan 10, 2014 5:44 am

Re: Guy remakes opening train station of HL2 in UDK3

Postby marnamai on Thu Apr 03, 2014 1:04 pm

how, we, source modders feel like now

Image
User avatar
marnamai
Veteran
Veteran
 
Joined: Thu Nov 10, 2005 12:17 pm
Location: Belgium

Re: Guy remakes opening train station of HL2 in UDK3

Postby LordDz on Thu Apr 03, 2014 3:37 pm

Porn.
Now.. Will Half-Life 3 look this good?
User avatar
LordDz
May Contain Skills
May Contain Skills
 
Joined: Mon Sep 01, 2008 12:28 pm
Location: Hammer Crash Logs

Re: Guy remakes opening train station of HL2 in UDK3

Postby Knights on Thu Apr 03, 2014 7:12 pm

I saw this earlier on another site thought someone just spiced it up on the Source engine. Looks great, the Unreal is so much easier to work with then the Source engine. Where is hl3? :[]:
Image
Random gallery... Knights_Stuff.
Home page --> http://www.knights.interlopers.net/
User avatar
Knights
May Contain Skills
May Contain Skills
 
Joined: Tue Aug 01, 2006 4:35 pm
Location: In a van down by the river

Re: Guy remakes opening train station of HL2 in UDK3

Postby amckern on Fri Apr 04, 2014 9:12 am

Knights wrote:Where is hl3? :[]:


I hear they are working out how to bumb the community around in the lest effective manner
Image
NightFall Source Code - http://nightfallmod.com
User avatar
amckern
Pheropod
Pheropod
 
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2004 3:26 am
Location: Sydney, Australia

Re: Guy remakes opening train station of HL2 in UDK3

Postby kraid on Fri Apr 04, 2014 4:22 pm

Now, this hopefully shows Valve that they need to do something Source2 related.
Sure, if someone would remake this map in Source 2013, it would also look a lot better then the original,
but a lot of things simply cannot be made in Source due to engine restrictions and missing features.

HL2 is about 10 Jears old now, would be also time for HL3.
Goldeneye Source v4.2.3
get it now and play for FREE!!!
http://www.goldeneyesource.net
kraid
Been Here A While
Been Here A While
 
Joined: Thu Jan 22, 2009 12:09 pm

Re: Guy remakes opening train station of HL2 in UDK3

Postby nub on Fri Apr 04, 2014 6:57 pm

Shit, HL3 better look AT LEAST this good considering how long we've been waiting for it. This shit needs to happen soon. Like this year.
User avatar
nub
Veteran
Veteran
 
Joined: Tue Nov 15, 2005 1:11 am
Location: Charlotte, NC, US

Re: Guy remakes opening train station of HL2 in UDK3

Postby jgoodroad on Fri Apr 04, 2014 8:45 pm

That's pretty cool.
===[]"

Image
current projects: nmo_boardwalk, nmo_asylum
User avatar
jgoodroad
Senior Member
Senior Member
 
Joined: Thu Apr 09, 2009 4:44 am
Location: on a boat... unless it's a farm.

Re: Guy remakes opening train station of HL2 in UDK3

Postby ThePain on Sat Apr 05, 2014 3:17 am

After using the UDK4 level editor, the thought of opening up hammer again bothers me. The tools are just lightyears ahead of Hammer. With Portal 2 and CSGO being used with the same old Hammer as HL2 sans some minor updates, I worry that Valve isn't trying to improve their SDK functionality.

I mean I don't know what they're doing internally, but I hope they've made an entirely new Hammer from the ground up with all the now standard features we expect (True real time lighting, one-click instantly drop into the game, node based editing or at least advanced scripting features). If they're doing that for HL3, they've got their dev team split between old tools and hopefully anything new they've made.
It's quite simple really. I want to be a professional level designer. I want this to be my job.
User avatar
ThePain
Been Here A While
Been Here A While
 
Joined: Sun Dec 14, 2008 6:21 am
Location: Virginia

Re: Guy remakes opening train station of HL2 in UDK3

Postby Sathor on Sat Apr 05, 2014 9:07 am

I would think Source 2 will be a completely new engine. If it can match UE4 or CE3 - we just don't know, right? Perhaps there will be a big suprise and it will be just as awesome as UE4. Perhaps it will be just slightly inferior.

Without a really good new engine and perhaps several new games in development for the new engine (L4D3?) there is no real reason why HL3 shouldn't be done ... except they don't care so much with all the money they now make ...
User avatar
Sathor
Senior Member
Senior Member
 
Joined: Sat Jan 20, 2007 10:31 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Guy remakes opening train station of HL2 in UDK3

Postby Knights on Sun Apr 06, 2014 6:28 am

ThePain wrote:After using the UDK4 level editor, the thought of opening up hammer again bothers me. The tools are just lightyears ahead of Hammer. With Portal 2 and CSGO being used with the same old Hammer as HL2 sans some minor updates, I worry that Valve isn't trying to improve their SDK functionality.

I mean I don't know what they're doing internally, but I hope they've made an entirely new Hammer from the ground up with all the now standard features we expect (True real time lighting, one-click instantly drop into the game, node based editing or at least advanced scripting features). If they're doing that for HL3, they've got their dev team split between old tools and hopefully anything new they've made.
Not that the Source engine isn't usable but yes it's complete garbage compared to Unreal 4's new look... Bottom line Valve really doesn't have to make games anymore, I'm sure they are working on something big but they can milk the crap out of it, where other studios would have a deadline... Must be great to work at Valve! :-D
Image
Random gallery... Knights_Stuff.
Home page --> http://www.knights.interlopers.net/
User avatar
Knights
May Contain Skills
May Contain Skills
 
Joined: Tue Aug 01, 2006 4:35 pm
Location: In a van down by the river

Re: Guy remakes opening train station of HL2 in UDK3

Postby plagueofburia on Mon Apr 07, 2014 9:05 pm

Wow that really is something, I don't know how that could be done. Was that by one person? Are they all custom props made just for that map? The lighting, texturing the models all awesome.

Makes everything I have done look like it was done by an infant.

Makes me want to go and use the same tools that person used but for HL2 stuff this is too much right now.
plagueofburia
Regular
Regular
 
Joined: Mon Sep 12, 2011 9:09 am

Re: Guy remakes opening train station of HL2 in UDK3

Postby OCASM on Mon Apr 21, 2014 2:51 am

Seems like he's porting it to UE4:

Image
OCASM
Dumpling
Dumpling
 
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2012 3:20 am

Re: Guy remakes opening train station of HL2 in UDK3

Postby LordDz on Mon Apr 21, 2014 10:32 am

Can he port it to Half-Life 2 too? :P
User avatar
LordDz
May Contain Skills
May Contain Skills
 
Joined: Mon Sep 01, 2008 12:28 pm
Location: Hammer Crash Logs
Next

Return to General Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot]