Mounted Machine Gun

Tutorial collection, comprehensive listings on main site.

Postby The Ace on Sat Jun 10, 2006 8:54 am

mbs357 wrote:Good tutorial. Gun works great.
Also having a problem with NPCs using it...
I've looked at a prefab from a member's signature and NPCs use that one just fine...
Can't figure it out.

That would me, thanks! :)
You place an info_target near the gun, where the NPC should stand. You give it a name and use that name in the "NPC Manpoint" setting for the gun.
HOWEVER, now you must create a logic_timer. Set it to fire an output say, every 3 seconds:
OnTimer -> machinegun -> FindNPCToManTank

Done! Now any suitable NPC nearby will seek to man the MG every 3 seconds. The timer can ofcours be replaced with any other output. :P
The Ace
1337 p0st3r
1337 p0st3r
 
Joined: Sun Sep 18, 2005 8:08 pm

Postby shoootme on Tue Jun 20, 2006 10:34 pm

hi i am tring to make a gun that u can work from a Camera in a seprit room eny iders on how to do this?
shoootme
Just Joined
Just Joined
 
Joined: Tue Jun 20, 2006 10:13 pm

Postby Kodox on Tue Aug 01, 2006 11:08 pm

Everything works great EXCEPT the gun doesn't do any damage...I don't see any bullet holes and it does no damage to the metrocops i have placed on the map.
User avatar
Kodox
May Contain Skills
May Contain Skills
 
Joined: Fri Jul 21, 2006 7:54 pm
Location: Ohio

Postby Kodox on Tue Aug 01, 2006 11:08 pm

Oh yeah the post above me with the camera idea ROCKS!
User avatar
Kodox
May Contain Skills
May Contain Skills
 
Joined: Fri Jul 21, 2006 7:54 pm
Location: Ohio

Postby thelinuxpenguin5 on Wed Sep 27, 2006 1:42 am

Everything works great EXCEPT the gun doesn't do any damage...I don't see any bullet holes and it does no damage to the metrocops i have placed on the map.


Im having the same problem, can someone please help!
thelinuxpenguin5
 

Postby shok2ooo on Wed Nov 08, 2006 12:26 pm

same
shok2ooo
Dumpling
Dumpling
 
Joined: Sat Nov 04, 2006 10:09 pm

Postby Berzeger on Mon Nov 27, 2006 3:26 am

same problem (no bullets)
Berzeger
Dumpling
Dumpling
 
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 12:32 am
Location: Prague, The Czech Republic

damage1

Postby Jack_the_Bear on Sat Mar 03, 2007 4:45 am

I did everything as you specified, but I dont cause any damage, its like Im shooting blanks, I even put Damage Per Bullet and Damage Per Bullet Vs Player at 3000

nothing happens
Jack the Bear !)
Jack_the_Bear
Dumpling
Dumpling
 
Joined: Mon Dec 11, 2006 6:26 am
Location: Duluth MN

continued

Postby Jack_the_Bear on Sat Mar 03, 2007 4:50 am

I don't btw have any problem with the NPC's using it, I have Combine Soldiers near it and they automaticy aquired it without messing with script or anything
Jack the Bear !)
Jack_the_Bear
Dumpling
Dumpling
 
Joined: Mon Dec 11, 2006 6:26 am
Location: Duluth MN

Postby GalantnostS- on Sun Mar 04, 2007 7:35 am

I encountered the same problem(no bullet) too. But there seems to be an answer here:
http://www.snarkpit.net/editing.php?page=tutorials&game=HL2&id=219
The possible solution is somewhere in the middle of the page.
User avatar
GalantnostS-
Been Here A While
Been Here A While
 
Joined: Sat Feb 17, 2007 11:31 am
Location: Hong Kong

Postby MrAwesome2956 on Fri Mar 23, 2007 1:06 am

nice tut. only one problem, my mounted gun will have the firing animation, sounds, ect but no bullets will come out. please help thanks
MrAwesome2956
Dumpling
Dumpling
 
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2007 1:04 am

Postby MrAwesome2956 on Fri Mar 23, 2007 1:07 am

oops, sry didn't read second page of posts.
MrAwesome2956
Dumpling
Dumpling
 
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2007 1:04 am

Postby Mark Richard on Sun May 20, 2007 2:22 pm

MrAwesome2956 wrote:nice tut. only one problem, my mounted gun will have the firing animation, sounds, ect but no bullets will come out. please help thanks


Try changing the orgin of the func_tank to the end of the machine gun, like this.
User avatar
Mark Richard
Pheropod
Pheropod
 
Joined: Sat Apr 29, 2006 8:46 pm
Location: The Kingdom of Sweden

Postby marnamai on Sun May 20, 2007 2:41 pm

Nope, you forgot to select an ammo type => in the example map its "none" => change it to "ar2"
User avatar
marnamai
Veteran
Veteran
 
Joined: Thu Nov 10, 2005 12:17 pm
Location: Belgium

Postby Half-Lucas 2 on Mon Jun 04, 2007 9:25 pm

The Ace wrote:
mbs357 wrote:Good tutorial. Gun works great.
Also having a problem with NPCs using it...
I've looked at a prefab from a member's signature and NPCs use that one just fine...
Can't figure it out.

That would me, thanks! :)
You place an info_target near the gun, where the NPC should stand. You give it a name and use that name in the "NPC Manpoint" setting for the gun.
HOWEVER, now you must create a logic_timer. Set it to fire an output say, every 3 seconds:
OnTimer -> machinegun -> FindNPCToManTank

Done! Now any suitable NPC nearby will seek to man the MG every 3 seconds. The timer can ofcours be replaced with any other output. :P



that does not work, and what do you enter for the parameter override?
Image
Image
92% of teens have moved onto rap. If you are part of the 8% that still listen to real music, copy and paste this into your signature.
User avatar
Half-Lucas 2
Regular
Regular
 
Joined: Fri Aug 25, 2006 3:12 pm
PreviousNext

Return to Tutorials

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users

cron