Page 1 of 1

Get a '406 Not Acceptable' when I try to acess 'Lopers?

PostPosted: Tue Feb 24, 2009 2:15 am
by Lord Ned
When i try to get to Interlopers.net from school, I get a 406 Not Acceptable error.

The details are:
Image


My guess is this is caused by my schools web-filter. Can anyone provide any more ideas/insight about this?

Re: Get a '406 Not Acceptable' when I try to acess 'Lopers?

PostPosted: Tue Feb 24, 2009 3:21 am
by YokaI
Definitely a blocked website...

Re: Get a '406 Not Acceptable' when I try to acess 'Lopers?

PostPosted: Tue Feb 24, 2009 5:21 am
by Lord Ned
The rest of the websites actually have a blocked page. This seems like an error Interlopers is generating based on something being blocked.

Re: Get a '406 Not Acceptable' when I try to acess 'Lopers?

PostPosted: Tue Feb 24, 2009 8:17 am
by srredfire
I get this at AAU as well. Pisses me off. Every other forum works, just NOT LOPERS.

Re: Get a '406 Not Acceptable' when I try to acess 'Lopers?

PostPosted: Tue Feb 24, 2009 8:32 am
by Blink
Only one user reported this happening before now and he says it's resolved foe him so I thought we were in the clear. I think I know what is causing it. Will get back to you...

Re: Get a '406 Not Acceptable' when I try to acess 'Lopers?

PostPosted: Tue Feb 24, 2009 10:53 am
by Woe Kitten
I had the same thing at work. I'll go ask the tech guys how they fixed it :)

Re: Get a '406 Not Acceptable' when I try to acess 'Lopers?

PostPosted: Tue Feb 24, 2009 11:38 am
by Blink
It's to do with mod_security on Apache, it's a firewall. In laymans terms, when users are browsing the site through some kind of proxy or something similar, it can't see who you are properly and as a precaution it denies access.

I'll need to tweak Apache at some point, but you lot at school should be working! :-D

Re: Get a '406 Not Acceptable' when I try to acess 'Lopers?

PostPosted: Tue Feb 24, 2009 2:08 pm
by Notary
I was the unlucky one who got and reported it, right when map battle 31 started! Everything is still fine for me already. If you really need to acces the website from the place you get 406, you may use OperaTor browser, it's very laggy and slow but it somehow avoids 406. Just place the folder whenever you want, it doesn't need an installator.

http://files.myopera.com/archetwist/ope ... or-3.3.zip

Re: Get a '406 Not Acceptable' when I try to acess 'Lopers?

PostPosted: Tue Feb 24, 2009 8:23 pm
by srredfire
You fixed it Blink! I'm at school right now and it works! Good job <3

Re: Get a '406 Not Acceptable' when I try to acess 'Lopers?

PostPosted: Tue Feb 24, 2009 8:52 pm
by YokaI
Blink wrote:It's to do with mod_security on Apache, it's a firewall.


Huh, that's interesting. I thought a lot of websites used this though, so wouldn't it be a common error for people to run into in that case?

Re: Get a '406 Not Acceptable' when I try to acess 'Lopers?

PostPosted: Tue Feb 24, 2009 10:05 pm
by Blink
srredfire wrote:You fixed it Blink! I'm at school right now and it works! Good job <3


I haven't changed a thing, but I'll take the credit.

Re: Get a '406 Not Acceptable' when I try to acess 'Lopers?

PostPosted: Tue Feb 24, 2009 11:04 pm
by Megadude
I thought it was just the forums having a bit of a bottom burp and going down for a bit. It's happened a couple of times for me over the past few days.

Re: Get a '406 Not Acceptable' when I try to acess 'Lopers?

PostPosted: Thu Feb 26, 2009 2:45 am
by Lord Ned
Blink wrote:It's to do with mod_security on Apache, it's a firewall. In laymans terms, when users are browsing the site through some kind of proxy or something similar, it can't see who you are properly and as a precaution it denies access.

I'll need to tweak Apache at some point, but you lot at school should be working! :-D

Tell that to my advisory class which is free time. If I can't play games (Blocked. =() then I may as well contribute to 'lopers.

Blink wrote:
srredfire wrote:You fixed it Blink! I'm at school right now and it works! Good job <3


I haven't changed a thing, but I'll take the credit.


I'd tell you if your 'not doing anything but fixing' worked later... Schools DHCP server went kaput...

No DHCP = No IP's being assigned. No IP's being assigned = No logging on.
No logging on = DRAG/BORING.

And free time. :D

Re: Get a '406 Not Acceptable' when I try to acess 'Lopers?

PostPosted: Fri Feb 27, 2009 4:08 am
by Lord Ned
Whatever you didn't do, didn't fix it. =(