info_lighting?

Any aspects of level design for the Source engine.

info_lighting?

Postby MayheM on Fri Feb 22, 2008 8:23 pm

An entity that can be used to change the lighting origin of a prop_static or a vehicle prop. Set the prop's lightingorigin keyvalue to point at this entity to make the prop light as if it was at the info_lighting's origin. Good for prop_static entities that are embedded in world geometry (like rocks/windows/etc).

ok so what do they really do? I understand they change the light source, but why would they be needed?

Just another curious question from this guy....
Image
User avatar
MayheM
Veteran
Veteran
 
Joined: Tue Oct 16, 2007 7:46 pm
Location: Lancaster SC

Re: info_lighting?

Postby mookie on Fri Feb 22, 2008 9:36 pm

Often props will cast shadows in an undesirable direction, I'd assume that's one of the main purposes of this.
"When you mess up, it makes me feel better about me." -- Vince Masuka
mookie
Been Here A While
Been Here A While
 
Joined: Fri Feb 15, 2008 3:27 am
Location: New England

Re: info_lighting?

Postby MayheM on Fri Feb 22, 2008 10:24 pm

I gotcha, maybe they override the shadow controler, so an indoor shadow will not have the hard shadow from the outside. Either that or I have seen models be almost black if too much of them is embeded in the ground. it would I guess fix that...

hmm could be cool to use and play with...
Image
User avatar
MayheM
Veteran
Veteran
 
Joined: Tue Oct 16, 2007 7:46 pm
Location: Lancaster SC

Re: info_lighting?

Postby Angry Beaver on Fri Feb 22, 2008 10:34 pm

well what its actually used for is when a prop is lit poorley you use an info_lighting to changtes where its lit form to improve its lighting.
"To repeat what others have said and done, requires education; to challenge it, requires brains; to improve it requires skill and luck."
Angry Beaver
Sir Post-a-lot
Sir Post-a-lot
 
Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2008 9:18 pm

Re: info_lighting?

Postby Kremator on Sat Feb 23, 2008 9:36 am

I used it several times on props that are either under-lit or over-lit, think of it as changing their lighting origin.
User avatar
Kremator
Sir Post-a-lot
Sir Post-a-lot
 
Joined: Mon Jan 03, 2005 8:50 am
Location: the alarums of war

Re: info_lighting?

Postby reaper47 on Sat Feb 23, 2008 1:40 pm

The center of a prop_static can be inside a brush. Because the center is used for lighting, the prop will look pitch-black in game. With an info_lighting you can apply the lighting of a different spot (i.e. not stuck in a wall) to the prop, so it looks right.
reaper47
Regular
Regular
 
Joined: Tue Jan 03, 2006 9:23 pm

Re: info_lighting?

Postby MayheM on Sat Feb 23, 2008 6:13 pm

That makes total sence, I was using these window models in my map, still am for that matter. I had originally used a nodraw it the hole in the brushowrk to close the map. But it messed up the model lighting. This would be a perfect sollution to this problem I would imagine... well too late to mess with them on this map, but i will for sure use them in my future work...
Image
User avatar
MayheM
Veteran
Veteran
 
Joined: Tue Oct 16, 2007 7:46 pm
Location: Lancaster SC

Re: info_lighting?

Postby gtamike_TSGK on Sat Oct 29, 2011 12:06 pm

I know this is a old topic but does "info_lighting" work for orange box games?
I want to fix lighting for some static water pipe models that that are half way in the wall.

Here's no "info_lighting" tutorials anywhere and you can't name prop_static models.
I checked the info_lighting properties and it just says name.
What i'm saying is do I just place the info_lighting next to the prop_static model that has odd lighting?
Mapper since 2007 http://gamebanana.com/members/215600
gtamike_TSGK wrote:Innovation making new ideas come to life ¦)
User avatar
gtamike_TSGK
Regular
Regular
 
Joined: Wed Sep 01, 2010 12:24 pm
Location: UK

Re: info_lighting?

Postby zombie@computer on Sat Oct 29, 2011 5:30 pm

gtamike_TSGK wrote:I know this is a old topic but does "info_lighting" work for orange box games?
I want to fix lighting for some static water pipe models that that are half way in the wall.

Here's no "info_lighting" tutorials anywhere and you can't name prop_static models.
I checked the info_lighting properties and it just says name.
What i'm saying is do I just place the info_lighting next to the prop_static model that has odd lighting?

why would you name the prop_static? Just target an info_lighting from the prop_static.
When you are up to your neck in shit, keep your head up high
User avatar
zombie@computer
Forum Goer Elite™
Forum Goer Elite™
 
Joined: Fri Dec 31, 2004 5:58 pm
Location: Lent, Netherlands

Re: info_lighting?

Postby gtamike_TSGK on Sat Oct 29, 2011 9:12 pm

zombie@computer wrote:
gtamike_TSGK wrote:I know this is a old topic but does "info_lighting" work for orange box games?
I want to fix lighting for some static water pipe models that that are half way in the wall.

Here's no "info_lighting" tutorials anywhere and you can't name prop_static models.
I checked the info_lighting properties and it just says name.
What i'm saying is do I just place the info_lighting next to the prop_static model that has odd lighting?

why would you name the prop_static? Just target an info_lighting from the prop_static.


Ah from Lighting Origin I see now, I was abit confused cause I couldn't read up on it lol.

zombie@computer wrote:why would you name the prop_static?

I don't know, I guess cause you can tell a light_spot to point at the prop name.
I would of used Info_lighting_relative on prop_static models but it didn't work.
I only got Info_lighting_relative working on prop_dynamic. :P
It would be good if we could change colours/brightness of prop_statics in hammer but oh well.

Info_lighting_relative
light_spot: Entity to point at. (prop name)
http://www.halfwit-2.com/?page=tutorials&id=152
Mapper since 2007 http://gamebanana.com/members/215600
gtamike_TSGK wrote:Innovation making new ideas come to life ¦)
User avatar
gtamike_TSGK
Regular
Regular
 
Joined: Wed Sep 01, 2010 12:24 pm
Location: UK

Re: info_lighting?

Postby Mr. Happy on Sun Oct 30, 2011 1:50 am

For statics the -staticproplighting and -staticproppolys commands on vrad have made this irrelevant.
I'd link to the developer wiki but it's down.
Image
-You've just been happified!?
User avatar
Mr. Happy
Forum Goer Elite™
Forum Goer Elite™
 
Joined: Sat Dec 30, 2006 9:20 am
Location: Flyin' thru "da cloud" in the MotherShip

Re: info_lighting?

Postby gtamike_TSGK on Sun Nov 20, 2011 11:58 am

I got info_lighting working on prop_static models now woohoo :P
Info_lighting - name - light_fix
prop_static - Lighting Origin - light_fix

EDIT
Here's a vmf I made that has a prop_static using 2 lights (on/off green/red using triggers etc).
http://gtamike.tsgk.com/two_lights_stat ... ghting.rar
Mapper since 2007 http://gamebanana.com/members/215600
gtamike_TSGK wrote:Innovation making new ideas come to life ¦)
User avatar
gtamike_TSGK
Regular
Regular
 
Joined: Wed Sep 01, 2010 12:24 pm
Location: UK

Re: info_lighting?

Postby Carbon14 on Sun Nov 20, 2011 1:57 pm

Mr. Happy wrote:For statics the -staticproplighting and -staticproppolys commands on vrad have made this irrelevant.
I'd link to the developer wiki but it's down.

That's incorrect, -staticproplighting aka per vertex lighting does not work on models with normal maps or phong, very significant limitations in some situations. Info lighting is still important therefore.
User avatar
Carbon14
Regular
Regular
 
Joined: Sat Sep 22, 2007 3:33 am

Re: info_lighting?

Postby Will_B on Thu Dec 15, 2011 4:58 pm

Carbon14 wrote:
Mr. Happy wrote:For statics the -staticproplighting and -staticproppolys commands on vrad have made this irrelevant.
I'd link to the developer wiki but it's down.

That's incorrect, -staticproplighting aka per vertex lighting does not work on models with normal maps or phong, very significant limitations in some situations. Info lighting is still important therefore.



Thank you for that info! would have saved me a lot of hassle had I known sooner
Will_B
Regular
Regular
 
Joined: Mon Oct 31, 2011 12:35 am

Re: info_lighting?

Postby joe_rogers_11155 on Thu Dec 15, 2011 7:10 pm

I typically use one info_lighting for a very large number of props. I usually have maybe 10 info_lighting entities per map.
"Day breaks, but decay soon follows." - Ava Winona
Currently developing in radio silence... 99 Bolts
Here's another project of mine... Assault on Overwatch
Are you new to Source SDK? VDC
joe_rogers_11155
Veteran
Veteran
 
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2008 11:11 pm
Location: United States
Next

Return to Hammer Editor Help

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot]

cron