New Rig Feedback.

PC related discussion and other issues.

Re: New Rig Feedback.

Postby xoqolatl on Thu Apr 03, 2008 8:19 pm

RC-1290 wrote:Going to upgrade it at the end of this year with a nehalem quad core :).

1) Nehalem CPUs use new sockets and new memory (DDR3)
2) desktop Nehalems are scheduled for 1st quarter of 2009; they are still a year away.
Image
User avatar
xoqolatl
May Contain Skills
May Contain Skills
 
Joined: Mon Nov 13, 2006 9:11 pm
Location: Warsaw / Poland

Re: New Rig Feedback.

Postby dragonfliet on Thu Apr 03, 2008 10:48 pm

xoqolatl wrote:
RC-1290 wrote:Going to upgrade it at the end of this year with a nehalem quad core :).

1) Nehalem CPUs use new sockets and new memory (DDR3)
2) desktop Nehalems are scheduled for 1st quarter of 2009; they are still a year away.


1) While wikipedia says it's new sockets, I can't find anything in the whitepaper release--care to point me to real information about the new socket? Also, they SUPPORT DDR3-not require it. Current Core architecture also supports DDR3 btw.
2) They're releasing the high end desktop chips Q4 2008

Still, It's a bit early to be jumping on any bandwagons. With any luck, AMD will get their act together and think of a decent competitor by then (but for the love of Pete they need to stop socket hopping. Poor socket 939--you were a total waste of time).

~Jason
Image
User avatar
dragonfliet
Veteran
Veteran
 
Joined: Fri Apr 29, 2005 3:28 am
Location: Houston...le sigh

Re: New Rig Feedback.

Postby RC-1290 on Fri Apr 04, 2008 1:29 pm

And luckily I have ordered a motherboard that accepts DDR2 and DDR3.
---
Talking about new sockets, I wonder how long it takes until you just slide your new cpu into place. Plug and Play processor :P.
Where am I?
User avatar
RC-1290
1337 p0st3r
1337 p0st3r
 
Joined: Fri Sep 14, 2007 10:54 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Re: New Rig Feedback.

Postby Bema on Fri Apr 04, 2008 2:02 pm

RC-1290 wrote:Talking about new sockets, I wonder how long it takes until you just slide your new cpu into place. Plug and Play processor :P.


Lol - it's hardly complicated at the moment is it?

Lift up the little thing, put the processor in, close the little thing. :D
Image
Bema
Sir Post-a-lot
Sir Post-a-lot
 
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 11:50 pm
Location: London

Re: New Rig Feedback.

Postby RC-1290 on Fri Apr 04, 2008 4:43 pm

Bema wrote:Lol - it's hardly complicated at the moment is it?

Lift up the little thing, put the processor in, close the little thing. :D

That's three steps, mind you! Don't expect me to be able to remember that! And when buying a new processor along with your breakfast becomes normal, it will be useful. WHEN, not IF.
Where am I?
User avatar
RC-1290
1337 p0st3r
1337 p0st3r
 
Joined: Fri Sep 14, 2007 10:54 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Re: New Rig Feedback.

Postby xoqolatl on Fri Apr 04, 2008 6:42 pm

dragonfliet wrote:1) While wikipedia says it's new sockets, I can't find anything in the whitepaper release--care to point me to real information about the new socket?

AFAIK Intel has not announced anything officially; here are a few sources:
http://www.dailytech.com/Article.aspx?n ... d=y#217890
http://www.reghardware.co.uk/2007/10/26 ... _nahelems/
I have personally seen a picture of Nehalem CPU, board and running system, but of course I cant show them.

Very good overview of Nehalem microarchitecture:
http://www.realworldtech.com/page.cfm?A ... 0208182719
Nehalem die picture:
http://chip-architect.com/news/Shanghai_Nehalem.jpg

dragonfliet wrote:Also, they SUPPORT DDR3-not require it. Current Core architecture also supports DDR3 btw.

Core architecture has no memory controller. It supports any possible kind of memory, if there is a northbridge with appropriate memory controller. Nehalem has integrated DDR3 memory controller, it will only work with DDR3. You cant make a motherboard with DDR2 slots and any of Nehalem's sockets.
Image
User avatar
xoqolatl
May Contain Skills
May Contain Skills
 
Joined: Mon Nov 13, 2006 9:11 pm
Location: Warsaw / Poland

Re: New Rig Feedback.

Postby dragonfliet on Sun Apr 06, 2008 4:42 am

xoqolatl wrote:well researched reply

Boy was I ever wrong. I wasn't reading close enough to see that they were putting the memory controller on the cpu. Makes upgrading a bit more costly as DDR3 is just a price increase w/o the performance right now. Perhaps by the time Nehalem launches it will have come down in price and up in performance.

Also, here's hoping that intel doesn't decide to play musical cpu socket like AMD has for the last few years.

~Jason
Image
User avatar
dragonfliet
Veteran
Veteran
 
Joined: Fri Apr 29, 2005 3:28 am
Location: Houston...le sigh

Re: New Rig Feedback.

Postby rb_lestr on Sun Apr 06, 2008 11:36 pm



The time is now guys, ordering this within the week and i need final opinions.
If any of this stuff isn't of good quality, or if there is a better option let me know.
This is important!

Is it weird that i'm most concerned about my DVD-RW drive than anything else?
Last edited by rb_lestr on Mon Apr 07, 2008 10:10 am, edited 1 time in total.
Image
User avatar
rb_lestr
May Contain Skills
May Contain Skills
 
Joined: Tue Apr 24, 2007 8:50 pm
Location: Ireland

Re: New Rig Feedback.

Postby xoqolatl on Mon Apr 07, 2008 10:02 am

NEO2-FIR has more connectivity options and has the same price.
Image
User avatar
xoqolatl
May Contain Skills
May Contain Skills
 
Joined: Mon Nov 13, 2006 9:11 pm
Location: Warsaw / Poland

Re: New Rig Feedback.

Postby rb_lestr on Mon Apr 07, 2008 10:10 am

Changed.

I was going to get the Samsung 22" monitor instead of the 20" but i've decided against that.

Corsair Powersupply 520W Black, ATX/EPS, 120mm Fan, 4xSATA, SLI, WxHxL 150x86x150

OR

OCZ GameXStream Powersupply ATX/EPS 600W ,120mm Fan, SATA, 4/8pin CPU, 20/24pin
??

Trying to squeeze the most out of my money as you can probably tell.
Image
User avatar
rb_lestr
May Contain Skills
May Contain Skills
 
Joined: Tue Apr 24, 2007 8:50 pm
Location: Ireland

Re: New Rig Feedback.

Postby xoqolatl on Mon Apr 07, 2008 11:02 am

Corsair HX520 all the way.
Image
User avatar
xoqolatl
May Contain Skills
May Contain Skills
 
Joined: Mon Nov 13, 2006 9:11 pm
Location: Warsaw / Poland

Re: New Rig Feedback.

Postby rb_lestr on Mon Apr 07, 2008 11:07 am

Righteo, keeping the Corsair in there.

So i think thats it,
might just order the gfx card today, they only have 3 left in stock.
The RAM too, they're running low on that also.
Then i'm going to wait to see if they get the CPU cooler in and the monitor.
Then just buy everything.
[Unless anyone could suggest an alternate cooler, i don't remember why i picked the one i did. ~50 euro to spend on it, OC needed]

I couldn't be happier,
my work surprised me with my bank holiday pay, 320 euro for a weeks part time work.

EDIT:
Since the monitor is the only thing i'm missing now, due to the fact that its out of stock,
should i bite the bullet and get the samsung 22" instead?
Its not as crisp due to it having the same resolution as the 20", theres more screen, but you don't get more view room if you get what i mean. I'm a bit of a weirdo when it comes to that stuff so i don't know if its worth it.
Anyone care to weigh in?
Alternate monitor suggestions welcome.
Image
User avatar
rb_lestr
May Contain Skills
May Contain Skills
 
Joined: Tue Apr 24, 2007 8:50 pm
Location: Ireland

Re: New Rig Feedback.

Postby dragonfliet on Tue Apr 08, 2008 4:23 am

Go with the 22" seeing as 1680 pixels are there already, moving them over across a 1.5" distance (horizontal) really isn't going to make almost ANY difference. If you see a difference, it's in your head and you should be ashamed of yourself for being so easily duped.

+ Bigger = better

~Jason
Image
User avatar
dragonfliet
Veteran
Veteran
 
Joined: Fri Apr 29, 2005 3:28 am
Location: Houston...le sigh

Re: New Rig Feedback.

Postby Simon on Tue Apr 08, 2008 5:50 pm

dragonfliet wrote:Go with the 22" seeing as 1680 pixels are there already, moving them over across a 1.5" distance (horizontal) really isn't going to make almost ANY difference. If you see a difference, it's in your head and you should be ashamed of yourself for being so easily duped.

+ Bigger = better

~Jason

Hah. True.
Simon
Pheropod
Pheropod
 
Joined: Wed Jul 20, 2005 11:00 am
Location: Belgium

Re: New Rig Feedback.

Postby zombie@computer on Wed Apr 09, 2008 8:03 pm

Ok, somewhat of a rig question: Which one would you guys pick?

Western Digital Elements 500GB = €79
(has usb only)

Image
Pro's: Cheap as hell
Con's: No eSata, no utp, no fw. Basically a big usb stick.

or

Samsung SpinPoint T (€68 for 500gb, €92 for 750gb) + Cooler Master Xcraft 350 (€39) = €107-€131
(has eSATA (=cool)+usb)
Image
pro's: easy to switch hdd's to larger when needed, looks cool. Has eSATA.
cons: bit pricey.

or

WD my book home edition (€109 for 500gb) + €5 eSATA cable = €114
(has eSATA (=cool)+usb+fw)

Image
pro's: easy, one device. The mac of these options i guess. Book design looks fun. Has all kinds of connections.
cons: ?

or

WD my book world edition (€129 for 500gb) = €129
(only utp, but moddable to server due to linux OS)

Image
Pro's: UTP. Has utp. You know, utp. Upt = ultimate playing toy. Cool for my home network, never bothering with connecting and disconnecting and moving about... Just connect it to my router and leave it there to rust. Also, easy to softmod this baby to a printer-server (why tho), or a (v/slow) lamp server (again, why tho? its fun, but i can run it locally aswell). Cool book design (better than the home edition above :p )
Con's: I can't softmod. Expensive. No usb, eSATA or FW whatsoever, unless i unscrew the case (and void the warranty).

I mainly want to use the disc for backupping and as a media storage device (pref streaming), thus eSATA for local usage very appreciated (though usb is fast enough for most things). Offcourse, utp + existing wireless router is awesome for streaming media aswell though relatively slow (WD my world book has results of around 6 mb/sec max). Lastly, its always fun to have some portable media device to transfer stuff to friends and all.
Ive been browsing different sites and reviews, and basically came down to one of these as possibilities.
I dont really have any experience with external storage so far, so anyone else any good ideas on which to base my choice?
When you are up to your neck in shit, keep your head up high
zombie@computer
Forum Goer Elite™
Forum Goer Elite™
 
Joined: Fri Dec 31, 2004 5:58 pm
Location: Lent, Netherlands
PreviousNext

Return to Hardware & Software

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users