Trying new things.

Films, albums, random internet videos.

Trying new things.

Postby nub on Fri Nov 06, 2009 8:34 am

So I've begun branching off in to other genres of music to create. I just got done with this track in particular, which is "lo-fi" (low fidelity). Lofi is basically deliberately making samples low fidelity to give a song a distinct sound. I've only heard it accompanied in down tempo songs, but I'm sure it's used in many other genres.

I've always been a fan of trip-hop songs, especially those made by "The Rain Crow", who I strongly recommend you look up (he's on Acid Planet). There's a song of his called Ear Knots which basically inspired me to make this song. His work alone is what got me in to psychedelic music, and I've never seen a better artist.

/psychotic admiration

Anyway, this song is simply me just experimenting with lofi and down tempo. It features things such as pausing and distortion effects to give it a weird style. I'm still pretty new at this kind of thing though.

Enough chatter, here's the song. I recommend headphones, but if you have a subwoofer system, it has some big bass in it. :D

http://www.acidplanet.com/artist.asp?PID=1289179&t=7196

PS: If for some reason the player on Acid Planet decides not to work for you, you can listen to the song on my Myspace

Enjoy.
nub
Veteran
Veteran

Re: Trying new things.

Postby Hollow on Fri Nov 06, 2009 9:41 am

not bad man. I had a listen to the track (and the others) on your myspace.
I'm not much of a lo-fi fan, but it's pretty good! :smt023

However, I found I was more interested in the song 'Morpholo'. Dude, I really liked that one.
Could I possibly do a remix? I would love to play around with ideas based round that song structure :D
Hollow
Ubisoft/Monothetic

Postby nub on Fri Nov 06, 2009 8:37 pm

Yeah sure, go ahead.
nub
Veteran
Veteran

Postby Hollow on Sat Nov 07, 2009 1:46 am

coolio. I will have summin up sunday! :D
Hollow
Ubisoft/Monothetic