setupArrayProps_R: array prop (null) is at index zero.

Grab your favourite IDE and tinker with the innards of game engines

setupArrayProps_R: array prop (null) is at index zero.

Postby TiiM on Thu May 27, 2010 5:03 pm

Hi guys, I've got a problem since the last update (hl2, ep1). When I turn on the mod I get an error
Code: Select all
setupArrayProps_R: array prop (null) is at index zero.
. I use my own files in bin client.dll and server.dll. If I remove them, everythink works just fine. Anybody has an idea how to fix it? Thanks a lot.
Image
Sorry for my English
User avatar
TiiM
Member
Member
 
Joined: Thu Apr 23, 2009 2:31 pm
Location: Slovakia

Re: setupArrayProps_R: array prop (null) is at index zero.

Postby Tommo120 on Thu May 27, 2010 10:33 pm

I had the same issue earlier. In your gameinfo.txt, use these values:
SteamAppId 218
ToolsAppId 211
AdditionalContentID 420

Then restart steam and all should be good :) By the way, this is probably only if you are using a 2007 engine based mod. Dont know if the others even work at the moment
Tommo120
Just Joined
Just Joined
 
Joined: Thu May 27, 2010 10:31 pm

Re: setupArrayProps_R: array prop (null) is at index zero.

Postby Sunabouzu on Fri May 28, 2010 11:23 pm

Tommo120 wrote:I had the same issue earlier. In your gameinfo.txt, use these values:
SteamAppId 218
ToolsAppId 211
AdditionalContentID 420

Then restart steam and all should be good :) By the way, this is probably only if you are using a 2007 engine based mod. Dont know if the others even work at the moment


I'm having the same issues on my own mod, and I tried this. It doesn't work, does anyone else know a possible fix?

Edit: I am a scrub and edited the wrong gameinfo.txt. It totally works.
User avatar
Sunabouzu
Member
Member
 
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2007 3:16 am
Location: U.S

Re: setupArrayProps_R: array prop (null) is at index zero.

Postby Jangalomph on Sat May 29, 2010 5:19 pm

Thank god for this thread. I was about to post on it because my mod won't start either.

EDIT: This fix doesn't work.
http://www.nomoreroominhell.com
I don’t know whether I was right or wrong, I guess I’ll never know… But I made it. And I guess I should be thankful for that. - Strelok
Has anyone really been far even as decided to use even go want to do look more like?
User avatar
Jangalomph
Forum Goer Elite™
Forum Goer Elite™
 
Joined: Wed Jun 25, 2008 3:19 pm
Location: Sumter, SC

Re: setupArrayProps_R: array prop (null) is at index zero.

Postby pfannkuchen_gesicht on Sat May 29, 2010 11:43 pm

Have the same issue and I contacted steam support but they just say I should verify my game caches -_-
EDIT: the fix doesn't work
pfannkuchen_gesicht
Member
Member
 
Joined: Sat May 29, 2010 11:36 pm

Re: setupArrayProps_R: array prop (null) is at index zero.

Postby Zecrah on Sun May 30, 2010 8:19 pm

Why can't Valve just stop fucking everything up...

Also yeah, fix didn't work.
Major Banter wrote:Zecrah, you've come from nowhere yet have rapidly become a Hammer God.

Wtf.


Check out my weapons tutorial
Zecrah
Design Section Moderator
 
Joined: Sat Sep 27, 2008 10:56 am

Re: setupArrayProps_R: array prop (null) is at index zero.

Postby Jangalomph on Sun May 30, 2010 11:47 pm

I rebuilt my client.dll and it now works. Along with this "fix" added to the gameinfo.txt
http://www.nomoreroominhell.com
I don’t know whether I was right or wrong, I guess I’ll never know… But I made it. And I guess I should be thankful for that. - Strelok
Has anyone really been far even as decided to use even go want to do look more like?
User avatar
Jangalomph
Forum Goer Elite™
Forum Goer Elite™
 
Joined: Wed Jun 25, 2008 3:19 pm
Location: Sumter, SC

Re: setupArrayProps_R: array prop (null) is at index zero.

Postby Zecrah on Mon May 31, 2010 5:32 pm

Still doesn't work for me doing that.

What are your searchpaths?
Major Banter wrote:Zecrah, you've come from nowhere yet have rapidly become a Hammer God.

Wtf.


Check out my weapons tutorial
Zecrah
Design Section Moderator
 
Joined: Sat Sep 27, 2008 10:56 am

Re: setupArrayProps_R: array prop (null) is at index zero.

Postby Jangalomph on Tue Jun 01, 2010 8:42 pm

What do you mean?

EDIT: I can only run the non debug version if the game, i if i try and run a debug version from the code it self i get this set up array crap now.. not what i need :smt021
http://www.nomoreroominhell.com
I don’t know whether I was right or wrong, I guess I’ll never know… But I made it. And I guess I should be thankful for that. - Strelok
Has anyone really been far even as decided to use even go want to do look more like?
User avatar
Jangalomph
Forum Goer Elite™
Forum Goer Elite™
 
Joined: Wed Jun 25, 2008 3:19 pm
Location: Sumter, SC

Re: setupArrayProps_R: array prop (null) is at index zero.

Postby Zecrah on Wed Jun 02, 2010 5:00 pm

In your gameinfo.txt, something like
Code: Select all
      SearchPaths
      {
         Game            |gameinfo_path|.
         Game            |all_source_engine_paths|ep2
         Game            |all_source_engine_paths|episodic
         Game            |all_source_engine_paths|hl2
      }
   }


blah blah blah. Some people think that the order you do them makes a difference.


I tried just whacking the 'rebuild' button in VCE, anything more technical that needed to be done for you to get it to work? ^^
Major Banter wrote:Zecrah, you've come from nowhere yet have rapidly become a Hammer God.

Wtf.


Check out my weapons tutorial
Zecrah
Design Section Moderator
 
Joined: Sat Sep 27, 2008 10:56 am

Re: setupArrayProps_R: array prop (null) is at index zero.

Postby Mr. Happy on Wed Jun 02, 2010 5:07 pm

the order of search paths in gameinfo matters in many source engine builds.

do not anger the pointer arrays.
Image
-You've just been happified!?
User avatar
Mr. Happy
Forum Goer Elite™
Forum Goer Elite™
 
Joined: Sat Dec 30, 2006 9:20 am
Location: Flyin' thru "da cloud" in the MotherShip

Re: setupArrayProps_R: array prop (null) is at index zero.

Postby Zecrah on Wed Jun 02, 2010 5:42 pm

Right, nailed it.

With everything shutdown (Steam, SDK, Hammer, mod whatever) I opened my gameinfo.txt. I edited it to look like so:
Code: Select all
"GameInfo"
{
   // This is what shows up in the 'Third Party Games' area of the Steam games list.
   game      "Mod Name"
   title      "Mod Title"
   type       singleplayer_only
   developer    "Mah Mod"

   FileSystem
   {
      SteamAppId            218      // GCF for Episode 2 - 420 - 218
      ToolsAppId            211      // Tools will load this (ie: source SDK caches) to get things like materials\debug, materials\editor, etc.
      AdditionalContentID          420

      SearchPaths
      {
         Game            |gameinfo_path|.
         Game            |all_source_engine_paths|ep2
         Game            |all_source_engine_paths|episodic
         Game            |all_source_engine_paths|hl2
      }
   }
}


I saved this and closed the text editor.

I launched my mod and left it at the main menu (With my background map running).

Then, I launched the SDK.

I then went back to my gameinfo.txt and changed it to look like this.


Code: Select all
"GameInfo"
{
   // This is what shows up in the 'Third Party Games' area of the Steam games list.
   game      "Mod Name"
   title      "Mod Title"
   type       singleplayer_only
   developer    "Mah Mod"

        FileSystem
   {
      SteamAppId            420      // GCF for Episode 2 - 420 - 218
      ToolsAppId            211      // Tools will load this (ie: source SDK caches) to get things like materials\debug, materials\editor, etc.
      //AdditionalContentID          420

      SearchPaths
      {
         Game            |gameinfo_path|.
         Game            |all_source_engine_paths|ep2
         Game            |all_source_engine_paths|episodic
         Game            |all_source_engine_paths|hl2
      }
   }
}

The AdditionalContentID was uncommented, and SteamAppID changed to 420

I then happily mapped with hammer.

As long as you don't shut your mod down, (But you can freely open and close the SDK) you can continue like this. Just rinse and repeat when you finish and come back to it. It's good enough for me.
Major Banter wrote:Zecrah, you've come from nowhere yet have rapidly become a Hammer God.

Wtf.


Check out my weapons tutorial
Zecrah
Design Section Moderator
 
Joined: Sat Sep 27, 2008 10:56 am

Re: setupArrayProps_R: array prop (null) is at index zero.

Postby Saxon on Fri Jun 04, 2010 1:39 pm

As of today I've been getting this error message too. There was an engine update last night... which surprise surprise broke stuff again.

Heres my Gameinfo.txt. I don't see what I could be doing wrong :/

Code: Select all
"GameInfo"
{
   game "For Hire"
   title "For Hire"
   type multiplayer
   developer "For Hire Team"
   icon "logo"

   FileSystem
      {
      SteamAppId 420      // First mounts the Episode 2 GCF
      //   AdditionalContentId 320      // HL2DM, ignore this
      ToolsAppId 211      // OB toolset

      SearchPaths
         {
         Game |gameinfo_path|.
         Game |all_source_engine_paths|ep2
         Game |all_source_engine_paths|episodic
         Game |all_source_engine_paths|hl2
         }
      }
}
Saxon
1337 p0st3r
1337 p0st3r
 
Joined: Sun Oct 19, 2008 10:12 am

Re: setupArrayProps_R: array prop (null) is at index zero.

Postby Jangalomph on Fri Jun 04, 2010 5:43 pm

Valve just can't get things straight ^^
http://www.nomoreroominhell.com
I don’t know whether I was right or wrong, I guess I’ll never know… But I made it. And I guess I should be thankful for that. - Strelok
Has anyone really been far even as decided to use even go want to do look more like?
User avatar
Jangalomph
Forum Goer Elite™
Forum Goer Elite™
 
Joined: Wed Jun 25, 2008 3:19 pm
Location: Sumter, SC

Re: setupArrayProps_R: array prop (null) is at index zero.

Postby Zecrah on Fri Jun 04, 2010 7:49 pm

Saxon wrote:As of today I've been getting this error message too. There was an engine update last night... which surprise surprise broke stuff again.

Heres my Gameinfo.txt. I don't see what I could be doing wrong :/

Code: Select all
"GameInfo"
{
   game "For Hire"
   title "For Hire"
   type multiplayer
   developer "For Hire Team"
   icon "logo"

   FileSystem
      {
      SteamAppId 420      // First mounts the Episode 2 GCF
      //   AdditionalContentId 320      // HL2DM, ignore this
      ToolsAppId 211      // OB toolset

      SearchPaths
         {
         Game |gameinfo_path|.
         Game |all_source_engine_paths|ep2
         Game |all_source_engine_paths|episodic
         Game |all_source_engine_paths|hl2
         }
      }
}


Try reading my post, should work for you.
Major Banter wrote:Zecrah, you've come from nowhere yet have rapidly become a Hammer God.

Wtf.


Check out my weapons tutorial
Zecrah
Design Section Moderator
 
Joined: Sat Sep 27, 2008 10:56 am
Next

Return to Programming

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users