Breaking the speed limit

Grab your favourite IDE and tinker with the innards of game engines

Breaking the speed limit

Postby TechieUK on Sat Dec 14, 2013 8:20 pm

My friend is working with an SDK Template mod, and we have a very fast team.
This is the code in the class script:
Code: Select all
   // Movement
   "RunSpeed"      "400"
   "SprintSpeed"      "400"
   "ProneSpeed"      "350"

Any RunSpeed faster than 400 will be clipped to 400 automatically. How do I remove this limit?
Can someone tell me where the code is located so I can fiddle with it?
Also know as WILLAM; TechieUK is my old name. If you see WILLAM on Steam or ModDB, it's me.
User avatar
TechieUK
Regular
Regular
 
Joined: Sat Apr 13, 2013 4:29 pm

Re: Breaking the speed limit

Postby Mehis on Sat Dec 14, 2013 9:13 pm

cl_forwardspeed
cl_sidespeed
cl_backspeed
User avatar
Mehis
Regular
Regular
 
Joined: Fri Jan 28, 2011 8:41 pm

Re: Breaking the speed limit

Postby TechieUK on Sat Dec 14, 2013 9:15 pm

Is that the limit for speed, or does it change your speed to that?
Also know as WILLAM; TechieUK is my old name. If you see WILLAM on Steam or ModDB, it's me.
User avatar
TechieUK
Regular
Regular
 
Joined: Sat Apr 13, 2013 4:29 pm

Re: Breaking the speed limit

Postby Sandern on Sun Dec 15, 2013 11:41 am

TechieUK wrote:Is that the limit for speed, or does it change your speed to that?

There's a number of places where the speed might be limited/clamped. You kind of need to check CGameMovement::ProcessMovement and search on maxspeed.

cl_forwardspeed, cl_sidespeed and cl_backspeed control the max wish speed send by the client. On the server it is clamped to CBasePlayer::MaxSpeed (per player max speed) and sv_maxspeed (global max speed).
Sandern
Regular
Regular
 
Joined: Thu Jun 30, 2005 1:08 pm
Location: Netherlands

Re: Breaking the speed limit

Postby TechieUK on Sun Dec 15, 2013 12:14 pm

Thank you very much for the information!
I'll take a look around where you said, and if nothing happens I'm just going to keep digging until I find something that works I guess. I did set cl_forward/side/backspeed to 1000 in the code to see what happens and it does clip to 400 still.
Also know as WILLAM; TechieUK is my old name. If you see WILLAM on Steam or ModDB, it's me.
User avatar
TechieUK
Regular
Regular
 
Joined: Sat Apr 13, 2013 4:29 pm

Re: Breaking the speed limit

Postby SM Sith Lord on Thu Dec 19, 2013 12:54 pm

I'm sure you've already considered this, but moving that fast will be hell on the net code.
SM Sith Lord
Been Here A While
Been Here A While
 
Joined: Sat Nov 25, 2006 4:25 pm
Location: Los Angles, CA

Return to Programming

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users

cron