Little javascript help

Show off new creations, get help, or just chat about all aspects of web development and design.

Re: Little javascript help

Postby Blink on Wed Dec 16, 2009 10:55 pm

I don't mean to sound patronising but - http://www.google.co.uk/search?sourceid ... ript+timer

That's where I would start
User avatar
Blink
Cool 'n that
Cool 'n that
 
Joined: Fri Oct 08, 2004 4:16 pm
Location: UK

Re: Little javascript help

Postby Surfa on Wed Dec 16, 2009 11:09 pm

I don't know java script but could you not use something like a while loop.
Code: Select all
while(IsRunning())
{
//Do timer stuff
}
bool IsRunning()
{
if(time = end time)
return false;
else
retun true;
}

Or something similar.
Surfa
May Contain Skills
May Contain Skills
 
Joined: Sun Dec 30, 2007 3:04 pm

Re: Little javascript help

Postby Blink on Wed Dec 16, 2009 11:12 pm

caseyw wrote:Thanks, but I have been looking around, I've found several tutorials, but for some odd reason it always seems like it's about to work then it breaks. I think I might have messed a few other things up, so I'll keep trying.


Maybe you could post what you have so far..?
User avatar
Blink
Cool 'n that
Cool 'n that
 
Joined: Fri Oct 08, 2004 4:16 pm
Location: UK

Re: Little javascript help

Postby Blink on Thu Dec 17, 2009 12:14 am

Yes, but we can't help if we can't see your code...
User avatar
Blink
Cool 'n that
Cool 'n that
 
Joined: Fri Oct 08, 2004 4:16 pm
Location: UK

Re: Little javascript help

Postby Blink on Thu Dec 17, 2009 1:05 am

caseyw wrote:My code for the javascript is inside my HTML in the head. It's in one of my earlier posts. Check up some. If you meant something else then please specify please.


Well, looking at the post times you clearly added that code after I made my post so why are bolding that statement as if it was my error? :roll:

Anyway, on to your actual code. I've just had a look and you've got two glaring syntax issues.

Function names shouldn't have a semi colon after them when you're declaring them, and you don't refer to an element id with a hash unless you're using jQuery or something.

Fixing those errors results in it working as expected:

Code: Select all
<html>

<head>

<!-- JavaScript -->
<script type="text/javascript">

function updateTime() {

// Initilization(s)
now = new Date();
timetype = "null";

// Definitions
now_sec = now.getSeconds();
now_min = now.getMinutes();
now_hur = now.getHours();

// Single Digit Correction
if (now_sec<10) {
   now_sec = "0" + now_sec;
}

if (now_min<10) {
   now_min = "0" + now_min;
}

if (now_hur<10) {
   now_hur = "0" + now_hur;
}

// Determine AM & PM
if (now_hur>=12) {
   time_type = "PM";
} else {
   time_type = "AM";
}

// Combine all parts to create Current Time
cur_tim = now_hur + ":" + now_min + ":" + now_sec + " " + time_type;

// Change timer span to current time
document.getElementById("timer").innerHTML = cur_tim;

// Update interval
setTimeout("updateTime()", 0);
}

</script>

<!-- Stylesheets -->
<link rel="stylesheet" href="default.css" media="all" />

</head>

<body onload="updateTime();">

<span id="timer"></span>

</body>

</html>


Are you using Firebug for Firefox? It provides a very useful JS error console.
User avatar
Blink
Cool 'n that
Cool 'n that
 
Joined: Fri Oct 08, 2004 4:16 pm
Location: UK

Re: Little javascript help

Postby zombie@computer on Thu Dec 17, 2009 8:31 pm

settimeout with 0 could result in mayor performace loss. Please avoid using 0 here.
When you are up to your neck in shit, keep your head up high
zombie@computer
Forum Goer Elite™
Forum Goer Elite™
 
Joined: Fri Dec 31, 2004 5:58 pm
Location: Lent, Netherlands

Return to Web Design & Development

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users

cron