[CSS] cs_slowtech - WiP Thread

Reveal what you have made so far and get feedback on development.

[CSS] cs_slowtech - WiP Thread

Postby Craminator on Mon Oct 24, 2011 3:12 am

I'm making a map called de_chiplab, it's a microchip lab. I'm working on a static prop for the map, but I'm worried about my poly count. I'm at 680 - before a collision model. Is this poly count too high if I want four of these in one room?

Image

Render:

Image
Last edited by Craminator on Tue Dec 20, 2011 2:31 am, edited 2 times in total.
Map it up! Current Project : cs_slowtech
User avatar
Craminator
Member
Member
 
Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2007 6:36 am
Location: Portland OR

Re: [CSS] Industrial Manufacturing Robot

Postby goldendeed on Mon Oct 24, 2011 3:19 am

Myself not being a particularly expert modeling or exporter. I would assume It depends on how big that is going to be. If its supposed to be really small and you don't really notice it, don't bother. But if its larger then you could for for a higher poly count.

But if you stick some area portals in the map 4 should be fine in one room.
Image
User avatar
goldendeed
Been Here A While
Been Here A While
 
Joined: Mon Jul 07, 2008 3:25 pm
Location: WA, USA

Re: [CSS] Industrial Manufacturing Robot

Postby Smurftyours on Mon Oct 24, 2011 3:26 am

680 polys is roughly 1760 tris which isn't bad at all. Thats around 7040 tris of models in one room which is considerably less then you would find in just about any room in any given map made by valve. (depending on the game of course) So yes its fine, personally I think you could got for maybe even twice as many polys and still get away with it.
jangalomph wrote:Wise words from a wise man. ^
User avatar
Smurftyours
Senior Member
Senior Member
 
Joined: Tue Aug 04, 2009 6:11 pm
Location: California, US.

Re: [CSS] Industrial Manufacturing Robot

Postby Craminator on Mon Oct 24, 2011 3:31 am

Ah, smurf thanks a lot for the quick and very helpful response. Nice, very good news. I have headroom, which means I can detail this beast a bit. It stands about 64 units tall. How did you calculate the tris? It isn't 680*2?
Map it up! Current Project : cs_slowtech
User avatar
Craminator
Member
Member
 
Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2007 6:36 am
Location: Portland OR

Re: [CSS] Industrial Manufacturing Robot

Postby Smurftyours on Mon Oct 24, 2011 3:58 am

Roughly it is X(2), X being the number of polygons. To actually calculate it you need to use max's statistic window, but even then it is still a little off. The only way I know to get the exact amount is to physically triangulate the model with a modifier and then use the max statistic window for 100% accuracy.
jangalomph wrote:Wise words from a wise man. ^
User avatar
Smurftyours
Senior Member
Senior Member
 
Joined: Tue Aug 04, 2009 6:11 pm
Location: California, US.

Re: [CSS] Industrial Manufacturing Robot

Postby Craminator on Mon Oct 24, 2011 6:59 am

Ah, nice. Thanks for the tips. I'll post updated pics tomorrow. Also, after converting all my primitives and shapes into editable poly's the count went from 680 to 311! Making a skin for this one is gonna be a good test of my skinning abilities.
Map it up! Current Project : cs_slowtech
User avatar
Craminator
Member
Member
 
Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2007 6:36 am
Location: Portland OR

Re: [CSS] Industrial Manufacturing Robot

Postby pk_hunter on Mon Oct 24, 2011 11:19 pm

Sounds like a really original idea, btw. Be sure to spam the map pimpage thread when you've got more to show! :)
Image
User avatar
pk_hunter
Pheropod
Pheropod
 
Joined: Thu Oct 23, 2008 4:05 pm
Location: Glasgow, UK

Re: [CSS] Industrial Manufacturing Robot

Postby Craminator on Tue Nov 22, 2011 8:49 am

The Control panel for for the robot. Experimenting with baking AO from 3dsmax to VMT. A lot of edge seams right now...
Image

In game:

Image
Map it up! Current Project : cs_slowtech
User avatar
Craminator
Member
Member
 
Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2007 6:36 am
Location: Portland OR

Re: [CSS] Industrial Manufacturing Robot

Postby Epifire on Fri Nov 25, 2011 4:32 am

Hmm this looks good. I only have one suggestion about the model, as I think it looks good already. You may want to consider adding a few more polys to refine the edge flow towards those bottom pivots on the model.

Image

Just to point out where, and at a distance that really wouldn't be that noticeable. Great job though, that is honestly the only thing that I could really point out.
Image
User avatar
Epifire
Senior Member
Senior Member
 
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2011 8:54 pm
Location: Minnesota, where you're froze 24/7

Re: [CSS] Industrial Manufacturing Robot

Postby Craminator on Mon Dec 12, 2011 7:05 am

Thanks epifire, I worked on it a bit tonight. It does look better with more sides on the pivots and cylinders.I finally added a UVW modifier to the mesh, and my next renders will show off some baked AO/texture.
Map it up! Current Project : cs_slowtech
User avatar
Craminator
Member
Member
 
Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2007 6:36 am
Location: Portland OR

Re: [CSS] Industrial Manufacturing Robot

Postby dissonance on Mon Dec 12, 2011 8:24 pm

the spiky pincer claw makes it look like more of a deathmachine than something that would build cars.
other than that, though, it looks great, especially considering the polycount; while not low, 680 isn't high at all.
i had fun once, and it was awful.
User avatar
dissonance
Veteran
Veteran
 
Joined: Wed Oct 10, 2007 12:35 am
Location: orange county, ca, usa

Re: [CSS] Industrial Manufacturing Robot

Postby Craminator on Tue Dec 13, 2011 7:49 am

Thanks for the feedback dissonance. I added a UVW Unwrap tonight... Oh man, I've got some work ahead of me. Hundreds of little chunks to organize and arrange. This model will definitely teach me the ins and outs of the max 2012 UVW editor. I'm trying various methods of grouping, packing, rotating and normalizing.

The questions I have are; what size should I be looking at for a skin? 1024x1024 512x512? Do large model texture sizes decrease performance, specifically in texture memory? Any tips/info? Thanks.
Map it up! Current Project : cs_slowtech
User avatar
Craminator
Member
Member
 
Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2007 6:36 am
Location: Portland OR

Re: [CSS] Industrial Manufacturing Robot

Postby Gary on Tue Dec 13, 2011 8:32 am

In this day and age, a 1024x1024 texture shouldn't hurt performance.
Have a question related to modding or something I posted? Something that needs staff attention? PM me or message me on Steam(link below)

User avatar
Gary
Interlopers Staff
Interlopers Staff
 
Joined: Wed Dec 16, 2009 12:40 am
Location: USA, FL

Re: [CSS] Industrial Manufacturing Robot

Postby dissonance on Tue Dec 13, 2011 8:16 pm

yeah, i'd say that 1024x1024 is just fine.
i had fun once, and it was awful.
User avatar
dissonance
Veteran
Veteran
 
Joined: Wed Oct 10, 2007 12:35 am
Location: orange county, ca, usa

Re: [CSS] Industrial Manufacturing Robot

Postby Craminator on Wed Dec 14, 2011 5:45 am

Thanks guys. Sorry for lack of robot renders. Meanwhile I'll post a pic of a railing model I made for the map.

Image
Map it up! Current Project : cs_slowtech
User avatar
Craminator
Member
Member
 
Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2007 6:36 am
Location: Portland OR
Next

Return to Under Construction

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot]