Bad surface extents

Discuss the industry, development techniques and other general topics

Bad surface extents

Postby SourLikeLemon on Wed Apr 16, 2014 9:23 pm

Ugh I got this problem, I don't really know how to fix it, if someone could PLEASE help me with this, I beg of you, I really don't know a solution, if someone could help me I would really be grateful!
I compile, there are no problems except for func_wall is empty which I know how to fix, but some people mentioned that there should be some problems related to Bad surface extents but I don't see them, if you need my map to download, I'll send it to you, if you could fix it, I'd be really grateful, because I don't know how to.
SourLikeLemon
Member
Member
 
Joined: Wed Apr 16, 2014 9:17 pm

Re: Bad surface extents

Postby Black_Stormy on Thu Apr 17, 2014 12:43 am

That is a hilariously bad explanation of your problem.
User avatar
Black_Stormy
May Contain Skills
May Contain Skills
 
Joined: Sun Nov 28, 2010 6:03 am
Location: Cairns, QLD, AUS

Re: Bad surface extents

Postby marnamai on Thu Apr 17, 2014 1:02 am

User avatar
marnamai
Veteran
Veteran
 
Joined: Thu Nov 10, 2005 12:17 pm
Location: Belgium

Re: Bad surface extents

Postby SourLikeLemon on Thu Apr 17, 2014 10:31 am

I don't really know how to explain it, nor do I know how to fix it. I'm making a jailbreak map for counter strike 1.6 and I really do want it to work, well I got skybox and every other thing, but when I compile it it says error Bad Surface Extents, so I don't really know, I'm going to check this link now, if it works, I'm going to say so in this post ( gonna edit it ) if it doesn't work I'm going to place my map here on mediafire, so you can download it and fix it if it's possible!
Thank you very much for replying by the way.

Bad surface extents: This happens if you have large scales on faces. I don't really know what that means, so I'm posting my map if someone could fix it, thanks!

Name: Jailmapa
Link: http://www.mediafire.com/download/q7ii1 ... l+mapa.rmf

Thanks for fixing my map in advance.
SourLikeLemon
Member
Member
 
Joined: Wed Apr 16, 2014 9:17 pm

Re: Bad surface extents

Postby marnamai on Thu Apr 17, 2014 10:45 am

it means you have a huge up-scaled texture on a brush
User avatar
marnamai
Veteran
Veteran
 
Joined: Thu Nov 10, 2005 12:17 pm
Location: Belgium

Re: Bad surface extents

Postby SourLikeLemon on Thu Apr 17, 2014 10:48 am

marnamai wrote:it means you have a huge up-scaled texture on a brush

Still don't understand it, blame me for being stupid, but yeah, I'm pretty bad at English as well, if you could please download it and fix it? I'll do anything!
SourLikeLemon
Member
Member
 
Joined: Wed Apr 16, 2014 9:17 pm

Re: Bad surface extents

Postby marnamai on Thu Apr 17, 2014 10:51 am

It's an .rmf, I never worked with goldsource ...
User avatar
marnamai
Veteran
Veteran
 
Joined: Thu Nov 10, 2005 12:17 pm
Location: Belgium

Re: Bad surface extents

Postby SourLikeLemon on Thu Apr 17, 2014 10:58 am

marnamai wrote:It's an .rmf, I never worked with goldsource ...

I can export it to .map?
BTW. I'm working with hammer, got any knowledge with it, like what should I really do to fix this problem?
SourLikeLemon
Member
Member
 
Joined: Wed Apr 16, 2014 9:17 pm

Re: Bad surface extents

Postby marnamai on Thu Apr 17, 2014 11:03 am

find the over-scaled texture you applied onto a brush and reduce the scale (that is literally what you need to do, I cannot explain it in simpler words)
User avatar
marnamai
Veteran
Veteran
 
Joined: Thu Nov 10, 2005 12:17 pm
Location: Belgium

Re: Bad surface extents

Postby SourLikeLemon on Thu Apr 17, 2014 11:09 am

Call me retarded, call me dumb, but I don't know whats over scalled texture? A too big texture? what is it?
SourLikeLemon
Member
Member
 
Joined: Wed Apr 16, 2014 9:17 pm

Re: Bad surface extents

Postby LordDz on Thu Apr 17, 2014 12:14 pm

You are retarded.
You are dumb.
:)

A texture in hammer starts at 0.25 in scale.
Somewhere in your map, you have a texture that is around 2.0 or so in scale, find it, use the texture tool (the green one) and set it's "scaling" back to 0.25.
User avatar
LordDz
May Contain Skills
May Contain Skills
 
Joined: Mon Sep 01, 2008 12:28 pm
Location: Hammer Crash Logs

Re: Bad surface extents

Postby SourLikeLemon on Thu Apr 17, 2014 2:54 pm

LordDz, There is a slight problem. I don't have the thingy that traces bigness of my dimensions, there are no numbers like when you're making stairs
64 - 24 I really don't know how to turn that on? Where do I turn that on?
SourLikeLemon
Member
Member
 
Joined: Wed Apr 16, 2014 9:17 pm

Return to Game Development

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users