Access Violation when compiling model??

Modelling, Textures, Animating and other general engine asset topics.

Access Violation when compiling model??

Postby TheDanishMaster on Fri Mar 25, 2011 11:16 am

Hi.

I'm trying to find out how high poly count the 2009 Source engine can handle. So far my highest poly count on a working model is around 47k. Which is much higher than what I expected. Anyways..
Im pushing it to the max and trying to compile a 76k poly model. But when I compile I get a Access Violation error when working on the Reference SMD. So does someone know the max poly count Source can handle. Because I think its happening because of the poly count. But what do you guys think?
Specs:
MSI P67A-GD55, Intel Core i7 Sandy Bridge 2600k @ 3,4GHz, Corsair 8GB DDR3 1333MHz, 1TB HDD, NVidia GTX580 1,5GB GDDR5, Blu-Ray drive
Image
User avatar
TheDanishMaster
Been Here A While
Been Here A While
 
Joined: Sun Jul 26, 2009 7:02 pm

Re: Access Violation when compiling model??

Postby stoopdapoop on Fri Mar 25, 2011 12:47 pm

Image

that's the best I got. I would have gone higher, but any higher subdivision would cause far too many polygons to compile and I wanted all the polygons in the model to be in the same smoothing group.

But I think you're limited to 65536 vertices (my guess is that they're indexed with two bytes). 21,845 triangles as a worst case with no triangle banding, or about 65533 triangles if the model is all 1 band.

about your problem, 76K is higher than 65.5K, so I'm guessing the polycount is the issue.
I'm Brown
Image
User avatar
stoopdapoop
Veteran
Veteran
 
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2005 2:14 am
Location: Ann Arbor, MI

Re: Access Violation when compiling model??

Postby Kosire on Fri Mar 25, 2011 1:19 pm

I remember if you compile a model and it has too many vertices in it and you try to load it in hammer a popup will say something along the lines of this
Code: Select all
"Too many verts for a dynamic buffer (26791>24576) Tell a programmer to up VERTEX_BUFFER_SIZE."
and then hammer will close.
User avatar
Kosire
1337 p0st3r
1337 p0st3r
 
Joined: Sat Mar 07, 2009 7:25 pm
Location: Denmark

Re: Access Violation when compiling model??

Postby TheDanishMaster on Sun Mar 27, 2011 12:08 pm

Kosire wrote:I remember if you compile a model and it has too many vertices in it and you try to load it in hammer a popup will say something along the lines of this
Code: Select all
"Too many verts for a dynamic buffer (26791>24576) Tell a programmer to up VERTEX_BUFFER_SIZE."
and then hammer will close.



Thats.... thats exactly whats happening now.. Stupid hammer... So I guess ppl will have to drive my low quality Golf with.. Though heres sum pics anyways

Image

Image

R.I.P Golfie :/
Specs:
MSI P67A-GD55, Intel Core i7 Sandy Bridge 2600k @ 3,4GHz, Corsair 8GB DDR3 1333MHz, 1TB HDD, NVidia GTX580 1,5GB GDDR5, Blu-Ray drive
Image
User avatar
TheDanishMaster
Been Here A While
Been Here A While
 
Joined: Sun Jul 26, 2009 7:02 pm

Re: Access Violation when compiling model??

Postby Kosire on Sun Mar 27, 2011 12:40 pm

Well you can always make 3 models like 1 model for wheels, 1 for windows and 1 for the body that way you can have a much higher polycount on each model :) But if it's for a driveable vehicle it prob. has to be 1 single model.
User avatar
Kosire
1337 p0st3r
1337 p0st3r
 
Joined: Sat Mar 07, 2009 7:25 pm
Location: Denmark

Re: Access Violation when compiling model??

Postby Duke Nukem on Sun Mar 27, 2011 3:11 pm

isn't that the reason why valve splits their cinematic physics into several models??
Enjoy your Kartoffelsuppe!

ModDB Profile
User avatar
Duke Nukem
Pheropod
Pheropod
 
Joined: Thu Aug 28, 2008 7:06 pm

Re: Access Violation when compiling model??

Postby LordDz on Sun Mar 27, 2011 3:14 pm

Kosire wrote:Well you can always make 3 models like 1 model for wheels, 1 for windows and 1 for the body that way you can have a much higher polycount on each model :) But if it's for a driveable vehicle it prob. has to be 1 single model.


So that's why the glass in L4D cars are made of another model.
User avatar
LordDz
May Contain Skills
May Contain Skills
 
Joined: Mon Sep 01, 2008 12:28 pm
Location: Hammer Crash Logs

Re: Access Violation when compiling model??

Postby Kosire on Sun Mar 27, 2011 3:43 pm

LordDz wrote:
Kosire wrote:Well you can always make 3 models like 1 model for wheels, 1 for windows and 1 for the body that way you can have a much higher polycount on each model :) But if it's for a driveable vehicle it prob. has to be 1 single model.


So that's why the glass in L4D cars are made of another model.


Yep and the fact that on the glass model they use surfaceprop glass instead of metal
User avatar
Kosire
1337 p0st3r
1337 p0st3r
 
Joined: Sat Mar 07, 2009 7:25 pm
Location: Denmark

Re: Access Violation when compiling model??

Postby TheDanishMaster on Sun Mar 27, 2011 7:35 pm

I was kinda hoping it was possible to split it up.. But as mentioned earlier its a problem when its driveable :/

So I guess ill have to stick with the low quality interior.
Specs:
MSI P67A-GD55, Intel Core i7 Sandy Bridge 2600k @ 3,4GHz, Corsair 8GB DDR3 1333MHz, 1TB HDD, NVidia GTX580 1,5GB GDDR5, Blu-Ray drive
Image
User avatar
TheDanishMaster
Been Here A While
Been Here A While
 
Joined: Sun Jul 26, 2009 7:02 pm

Re: Access Violation when compiling model??

Postby Gary on Sun Mar 27, 2011 8:51 pm

You could still spit it up, take the non-animated parts, make them a separate model then attach that(in either code or Hammer)...
Have a question related to modding or something I posted? Something that needs staff attention? I haven't been active lately, but feel free to PM me or message me on Steam(link below)

User avatar
Gary
Interlopers Staff
Interlopers Staff
 
Joined: Wed Dec 16, 2009 12:40 am
Location: USA, FL

Re: Access Violation when compiling model??

Postby boing on Sun Dec 04, 2011 12:57 am

i have a similar problem allthough my model has a triangle count of 10000 hammer gives me the error messeage Too many verts for a dynamic buffer (27323>24576) Tell a programmer to up VERTEX_BUFFER_SIZE.
In 3ds max the vertex count is arround 8000, so i think the problem lies within compiling the model
Image
The purple are loose fur planes... if that matters at all
boing
Member
Member
 
Joined: Wed May 12, 2010 10:07 am

Re: Access Violation when compiling model??

Postby boing on Sun Dec 04, 2011 1:04 pm

To anyone with the same problem: Just make sure you set up your smoothing groups :roll:
boing
Member
Member
 
Joined: Wed May 12, 2010 10:07 am

Return to Art Creation

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users