Maya Naming Problem

Modelling, Textures, Animating and other general engine asset topics.

Maya Naming Problem

Postby defragen1 on Tue Sep 13, 2011 12:00 pm

Hello

I am trying to name a bone "ValveBiped.Bip01_R_Hand" but no matter what I do maya keeps replacing the periods with underscores ( for any names with periods )

http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/844/unledtqgy.png/

My current work around is to edit the .smd files with notepad after exporting and rename the "ValveBiped_Bip01_R_Hand" to "ValveBiped.Bip01_R_Hand"
But I am really getting sick of it so can somebody please enlighten me why maya is such a piece of sh1t
- defragen1
User avatar
defragen1
Member
Member
 
Joined: Tue Dec 16, 2008 6:22 am

Re: Maya Naming Problem

Postby Ale on Wed Sep 14, 2011 8:16 am

because periods are not allowed in names :roll:

I dont really see the big problem either.
Image
User avatar
Ale
May Contain Skills
May Contain Skills
 
Joined: Fri Jul 29, 2005 9:03 am
Location: Earth

Re: Maya Naming Problem

Postby defragen1 on Wed Sep 14, 2011 5:28 pm

Ale wrote:because periods are not allowed in names :roll:

I dont really see the big problem either.

If maya doesnt allow periods in names why would valve name bones with periods in them!

The name ValveBiped.Bip01_R_Hand is hardcoded as the name for the bone merge
changing that would screw up all the other weapons
- defragen1
User avatar
defragen1
Member
Member
 
Joined: Tue Dec 16, 2008 6:22 am

Re: Maya Naming Problem

Postby Ale on Wed Sep 14, 2011 10:44 pm

Because valve doesn't use Maya. Besides, as annoying as it is, you have a work around that works. You could also change all other weapons and not having to worry about names in the future.
Image
User avatar
Ale
May Contain Skills
May Contain Skills
 
Joined: Fri Jul 29, 2005 9:03 am
Location: Earth

Re: Maya Naming Problem

Postby Fenrix on Mon Sep 19, 2011 4:50 pm

actually they now use maya. they didn't used to though. hence the naming convention remains the same. they probly have custom scripts to run thier bones through a re-naming process on compile.

have you considered attempting a quick melscript to do it. it should be possible.
Fenrix
Dumpling
Dumpling
 
Joined: Sun Aug 28, 2011 5:08 pm

Return to Art Creation

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Hollow, stoopdapoop