New Rig Feedback.

PC related discussion and other issues.

Re: New Rig Feedback.

Postby xoqolatl on Mon Mar 17, 2008 9:13 pm

Very nice :smt023:
Post pics when you're done with all parts and cables etc.
Image
User avatar
xoqolatl
May Contain Skills
May Contain Skills
 
Joined: Mon Nov 13, 2006 9:11 pm
Location: Warsaw / Poland

Re: New Rig Feedback.

Postby Doomtrain on Tue Mar 18, 2008 4:59 pm

I cant find my AMD on the internet anywhere, it's really weird.
I've attached a picture of cpu-z , can anyone tell me what it's name is..?

oh and im buying my system in june, won't it be better to wait for the 9800gtx instead of the 8800gtx? price and performance wise... ( im running at 1280x1024 native )

thanks for answering :)
Attachments
wtfproc.JPG
weird
wtfproc.JPG (43.28 KiB) Viewed 1649 times
User avatar
Doomtrain
Been Here A While
Been Here A While
 
Joined: Sun Nov 06, 2005 7:22 pm
Location: Netherlandz

Re: New Rig Feedback.

Postby xoqolatl on Tue Mar 18, 2008 9:06 pm

1. Your CPU is Athlon 2600+, it's meant to run at 166x11.5 = 1917MHz, but your FSB clock is set to 100MHz (incorrectly). Try selecting 166MHz bus in BIOS.

2. 8800GTX is EOL, only good high end Nvidia options are:
- second hand 8800GTX (if it's really cheap)
- 8800GTS 512
- 9800GTX - by June, it will be available for sure
Image
User avatar
xoqolatl
May Contain Skills
May Contain Skills
 
Joined: Mon Nov 13, 2006 9:11 pm
Location: Warsaw / Poland

Re: New Rig Feedback.

Postby Doomtrain on Wed Mar 19, 2008 1:31 pm

xoqolatl wrote:1. Your CPU is Athlon 2600+, it's meant to run at 166x11.5 = 1917MHz, but your FSB clock is set to 100MHz (incorrectly). Try selecting 166MHz bus in BIOS.


Holy shit dude , thats awesome !!!
i noticed a 50% boost on my system and i got a big fps in Source !!

for example i had 70-100 fps on scoutzknivez , now i have 140-240 fps :shock: :-D ( now I guess ati's new driver is giving me a little boost too )

Thank you so much!
User avatar
Doomtrain
Been Here A While
Been Here A While
 
Joined: Sun Nov 06, 2005 7:22 pm
Location: Netherlandz

Re: New Rig Feedback.

Postby xoqolatl on Wed Mar 19, 2008 2:53 pm

No problem man, Im glad to help :smt023
Image
User avatar
xoqolatl
May Contain Skills
May Contain Skills
 
Joined: Mon Nov 13, 2006 9:11 pm
Location: Warsaw / Poland

Re: New Rig Feedback.

Postby RobQ on Thu Mar 20, 2008 1:40 am

punky wrote:this will be my case in a few daysImage


That's what I have, the first time I ever built a computer from the ground up. The main line from the power supply to the motherboard barely fit. Now that I've stopped swapping the drives back and forth I'm happy with it. I need to put all the fans back on low, it picks up a lot of dust on the front grill. THe documentation in the box mentions some wire that doesn't really exist, now I can't even think of what it was. But their website mentions it's no longer there. I think it was the "power on LED", they say the blue lights on the fan serve the same purpose or something.
"You can never know that this statement is true"
RobQ
1337 p0st3r
1337 p0st3r
 
Joined: Mon Jul 02, 2007 2:13 am
Location: USA

Re: New Rig Feedback.

Postby Bema on Thu Mar 20, 2008 7:09 am

My new rig:

Motherboard: Asus P5N-E SLI
Processor: Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 (the Enery Efficient one for top notch overclocking)
Memory: 4Gb's worth of OCZ Ram
Graphics: 2 x Gigabyte 8800GT 512MB
Hard Drive: Western Digital Caviar = 500GB
Chasis: Coolermaster CM690
PSU: Antec Neopower 650W

Just short of £800 inc. shipping.

Based on the 'PC Gamer Rig'. Will hopefully be ordering this morning assuming my money transfers into my account. But any order I make wont arrive until Tuesday due to Easter & the various bank holidays. :(
As such you have a few days to give a verdict. Not that im really likely to listen at this point. :-)

Other bits of info:
I like building machines.
I have my OS covered so no need to worry about that.
I'll be bringing across my soundcard (X-Fi) + DVD drive etc to the new machine.
Don't need a new keyboard/mouse combo, nor speakers, nor a monitor. They're all sorted.
Information nearly all backed up!
Downloaded lots of drivers + important applications ready for when i finish building the new machine.
Bought new games in anticipation. :D
Image
Bema
Sir Post-a-lot
Sir Post-a-lot
 
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 11:50 pm
Location: London

Re: New Rig Feedback.

Postby xoqolatl on Thu Mar 20, 2008 8:23 pm

Very nice :smt023

Bema wrote:Downloaded lots of drivers + important applications ready for when i finish building the new machine.

10 bucks say that you won't need half of them and the remaining half will be useless, and you'll have to download more using another rig :D at least such things always happened when I dled any drivers in advance :D
Image
User avatar
xoqolatl
May Contain Skills
May Contain Skills
 
Joined: Mon Nov 13, 2006 9:11 pm
Location: Warsaw / Poland

Re: New Rig Feedback.

Postby punky on Thu Mar 20, 2008 8:38 pm

Okay so I finnaly got my new rig, The case I posted before looks sweeeeet :D
-case:Antec Nine Hundred EU ATX MidTower 2xUSB 6x5,25
-PowerSupply:Zalman ZM600-HP
-Ram: 3x Corsair 1024MB, DDR2
-MotherBoard: MSI MB P35 NEO-FI
-HarDisk: WD 500GB, Caviar SE16, Sata2, 7200rpm, 16MB
-GPU: 8800GT, 1024MB
-CPU:Intel Core 2 DUO E8400, s775,3GHz, 4x333MHZ, 6MB, BOX
-OS: Windows Vista Home Premium (yeah yeah it sux but I want to be able to play games on DX10....

I am now installing all my games again and all my non-steam games install very quikly(and it are games that require a lot of HD space(UT3,SupremeCommander,WorldInConflict))
But my steam games are progressing sooo slowly, I'm only downloading TF2, its 58% now and it has been downloading for a good two hours... damn you steam!
Image
User avatar
punky
Veteran
Veteran
 
Joined: Sat Jun 23, 2007 9:37 am
Location: Belgium

Re: New Rig Feedback.

Postby Simon on Thu Mar 20, 2008 9:00 pm

3 gigs of ram? weird...

e8400 = good choice
Simon
Pheropod
Pheropod
 
Joined: Wed Jul 20, 2005 11:00 am
Location: Belgium

Re: New Rig Feedback.

Postby Blink on Thu Mar 20, 2008 9:21 pm

Been running my new PC for a few weeks now, very pleased with it:

  • Motherboard: ASUS M2N32-SLI Deluxe
  • CPU: AMD Athlon 64 6400+ X2
  • RAM: 4 gig DDR2 OCZ Gold XTC 800MHz PC2-6400
  • Graphics: Sapphire ATI Radeon HD3870 512MB
  • Hard Disc: 2x 500 Gig Samsung Spinpoint 7200 16MB SATA II
  • PSU: 600W Kingwin Powersupply Modular
  • Drives: 2x DVD-RW
  • Case: Gigabyte 3D Aurora Black

:smt055
User avatar
Blink
Cool 'n that
Cool 'n that
 
Joined: Fri Oct 08, 2004 4:16 pm
Location: UK

Re: New Rig Feedback.

Postby RC-1290 on Thu Mar 20, 2008 10:26 pm

Simon wrote:3 gigs of ram? weird...

It's probably because more than 3 Gigs won't make a difference in XP 32 bit.
Where am I?
User avatar
RC-1290
1337 p0st3r
1337 p0st3r
 
Joined: Fri Sep 14, 2007 10:54 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Re: New Rig Feedback.

Postby Blink on Thu Mar 20, 2008 10:33 pm

RC-1290 wrote:
Simon wrote:3 gigs of ram? weird...

It's probably because more than 3 Gigs won't make a difference in XP 32 bit.


It's actually more than 4, but your video card memory gets taken out of that. So currently I've got 3.5 visible to windows.
User avatar
Blink
Cool 'n that
Cool 'n that
 
Joined: Fri Oct 08, 2004 4:16 pm
Location: UK

Re: New Rig Feedback.

Postby Hellraz0r on Fri Mar 21, 2008 12:24 am

Oh how I can't wait to get a new PC.

You guys are so lucky :)
Hellraz0r
Pheropod
Pheropod
 
Joined: Sun Oct 23, 2005 10:42 pm

Re: New Rig Feedback.

Postby Bema on Fri Mar 21, 2008 12:30 am

RC-1290 wrote:
Simon wrote:3 gigs of ram? weird...

It's probably because more than 3 Gigs won't make a difference in XP 32 bit.


punky is a Vista user.
Image
Bema
Sir Post-a-lot
Sir Post-a-lot
 
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 11:50 pm
Location: London
PreviousNext

Return to Hardware & Software

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users