The Simple Questions Thread.

Any aspects of level design for the Source engine.

Re: The Simple Questions Thread.

Postby Vicpop on Thu Jul 10, 2014 2:50 pm

If everything is func_detail, then everything will be rendered at once, basically, which is bad for performance. With a simple map and a modern computer you might not notice but it's still not a good idea. Func_detail essentially marks a brush to be ignored by VVIS in visibility calculations. The rule of thumb is to keep anything that can potentially block your view of another area a regular brush (walls, floors, ceilings, etc) and make small detail brushes func_detail.
Vicpop
Been Here A While
Been Here A While
 
Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2007 3:03 am

Re: The Simple Questions Thread.

Postby [KIRBY] on Thu Jul 10, 2014 3:43 pm

just like Vic said, everything that is not floor/wall/ceiling should be func detail

one more thing, your map has displacements, it should be worthy to note that displacements dont block visibility or block the maps, usually you want to have a :nodraw: brush inside of displacement to do that work
User avatar
[KIRBY]
Regular
Regular
 
Joined: Tue Dec 17, 2013 1:59 pm
Location: Manchester

Re: The Simple Questions Thread.

Postby Major Banter on Thu Jul 10, 2014 4:33 pm

[KIRBY] wrote:just like Vic said, everything that is not floor/wall/ceiling should be func detail

This is a bit of an oversimplification of the func_detail system, though as a rule of thumb it works fine.

It's important you (redgroupclan) understand the implications involved in func_detailing the wrong brushes - otherwise, you'll get into some very bad habits.

Rather than explain the ins and outs, here's some absolutely brilliant documentation. It's occasionally heavy reading, but worth it.

This is your new Bible. http://www.optimization.interlopers.net/

How, when and why we func_detail. http://www.optimization.interlopers.net/index.php?chapter=func_detail

Image

Lrn2optimise.
ImageImageImage
Major Banter
Veteran
Veteran
 
Joined: Tue Apr 01, 2008 10:52 pm
Location: UK

Re: The Simple Questions Thread.

Postby redgroupclan on Sat Jul 12, 2014 4:38 am

Thanks guys.
User avatar
redgroupclan
Regular
Regular
 
Joined: Sat Mar 02, 2013 1:26 am

Re: The Simple Questions Thread.

Postby boj on Tue Jul 15, 2014 1:27 pm

I have a giant hammer that I would want to swing down on a hinge or a joint or something.

How do I do that?

I tried using phys_hinge but I couldn't get that to work.
User avatar
boj
Member
Member
 
Joined: Mon Dec 30, 2013 12:12 am

Re: The Simple Questions Thread.

Postby joe_rogers_11155 on Tue Jul 15, 2014 8:05 pm

havent used it in a while but phys_hinge sounds like the right entity. another choice might be ballsocket but that allows 360 degree rotation. can you fake it by using a rotating button entity or a door entity?

ps: https://developer.valvesoftware.com/wik ... y_Overview
"Day breaks, but decay soon follows." - Ava Winona
Currently developing in radio silence... 99 Bolts
Here's another project of mine... Assault on Overwatch
Are you new to Source SDK? VDC
joe_rogers_11155
Veteran
Veteran
 
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2008 11:11 pm
Location: United States

Re: The Simple Questions Thread.

Postby boj on Tue Jul 15, 2014 9:53 pm

yeah but how do i hook the hammer up to the hinge? I put the name of the hammer into entity 1 and the name of the other thing into entity 2 but it just doesnt connect and my hammer just falls down.
User avatar
boj
Member
Member
 
Joined: Mon Dec 30, 2013 12:12 am

Re: The Simple Questions Thread.

Postby Major Banter on Tue Jul 15, 2014 10:09 pm

Turn on 'show helpers' Image and shift the origin horizontally a good number of units - 128 would be fine.

Also leave "entity 1" blank, and put entity 2 as the physics object.

Edit: i.e.

https://developer.valvesoftware.com/wiki/File:Hammer_object_helpers.png

Incidentally I found all of this in five minutes of google searching. At least try to look, eh?
ImageImageImage
Major Banter
Veteran
Veteran
 
Joined: Tue Apr 01, 2008 10:52 pm
Location: UK

Re: The Simple Questions Thread.

Postby boj on Tue Jul 15, 2014 11:03 pm

I tried searching google for it but i couldn't find anything that i hadn't already tried.

Also, i tried what you said and now the physbox doesn't go anywhere, but rotates on it's axis instead...
User avatar
boj
Member
Member
 
Joined: Mon Dec 30, 2013 12:12 am

Re: The Simple Questions Thread.

Postby Major Banter on Tue Jul 15, 2014 11:09 pm

Hm. Best guess is you need to fiddle with the origin. Try different axis.

Also this may help http://halfwit-2.com/?page=tutorials&id=121
ImageImageImage
Major Banter
Veteran
Veteran
 
Joined: Tue Apr 01, 2008 10:52 pm
Location: UK

Re: The Simple Questions Thread.

Postby boj on Wed Jul 16, 2014 2:50 am

Woops, my edit didn't go through

I meant to say that it did work because I didn't realise you meant to put it perpendicular to the swinging thing at first.

Thank you very much
User avatar
boj
Member
Member
 
Joined: Mon Dec 30, 2013 12:12 am

Re: The Simple Questions Thread.

Postby crashz2 on Sun Jul 20, 2014 9:33 am

Hey, is there a way to get animations from playermodels working? (for prop_dynamics)
Game: CSGO
crashz2
Dumpling
Dumpling
 
Joined: Mon Jul 14, 2014 10:57 am

Re: The Simple Questions Thread.

Postby Major Banter on Sun Jul 20, 2014 11:41 pm

Weird one; in the newest areas of my map, entering while in a buggy/jalopy instantly crashes out Ep2.

It's a heavy displacement area with a detailed-ish area at the end, with no optimisation currently. The buggy and jalopy run fine around the rest of the map. I'm yet to isolate the area or do any further testing because it's late as dicks here, but I wondered if there's an established error I haven't heard of.

To reiterate, on spawning in vehicles manually it crashes literally the very moment you enter the vehicle.

edit: I quickly isolated the area with the cordon tool and the same thing occurred. I will fuck around with the displacements tomorrow and see if I can get it stable, unless anyone has any ideas.
ImageImageImage
Major Banter
Veteran
Veteran
 
Joined: Tue Apr 01, 2008 10:52 pm
Location: UK

Re: The Simple Questions Thread.

Postby marnamai on Mon Jul 21, 2014 10:37 am

entity => prop_vehicle_jeep
world model = models/vehicle.mdl
vehicle script file => scripts/vehicles/jalopy.txt

is that all correct in your map?
User avatar
marnamai
Veteran
Veteran
 
Joined: Thu Nov 10, 2005 12:17 pm
Location: Belgium

Re: The Simple Questions Thread.

Postby Major Banter on Mon Jul 21, 2014 11:27 am

Yeah the vehicle itself is absolutely fine. I will try to isolate the error and edit this in a few minutes.

edit 1: npc_helicopter. I'm not entirely sure how, but it's caused by being 'spotted' by a gagged, waiting-for-wake chopper.

edit 2: Confirmed. Cannot run npc_helicopter and prop_vehicle_jeep in the same map.

edit 3: I have my suspicions you can run a chopper as long as it's on a path_track.
ImageImageImage
Major Banter
Veteran
Veteran
 
Joined: Tue Apr 01, 2008 10:52 pm
Location: UK
PreviousNext

Return to Hammer Editor Help

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users