Custom Menu

Tutorial collection, comprehensive listings on main site.

help

Postby mainframe on Mon Oct 10, 2005 9:44 pm

ok really new to hl2 modding but i thought this was pretty straight forward tutorial if the darn gameinfo.txt was in the root folder like u said .. where the heck is this file .. do i need some special program to extract this file from somewhere ... pleeze help
mainframe
Member
Member
 
Joined: Mon Oct 10, 2005 9:42 pm

Postby mr greenfish on Mon Oct 10, 2005 9:55 pm

just run a search through your steam folders, you're bound to come across a few
Image Available now
User avatar
mr greenfish
1337 p0st3r
1337 p0st3r
 
Joined: Sat Dec 04, 2004 12:05 pm

Postby mainframe on Sat Oct 15, 2005 9:08 pm

yes its there but this tutorial states its in your mod root folder which it is not ... from what ive experienced so far its in the steamapps folder ... but i have no clue how to enable this to work ... put it in my mods folder ? thanks for info though any is welcome
mainframe
Member
Member
 
Joined: Mon Oct 10, 2005 9:42 pm

Postby mr greenfish on Sun Oct 16, 2005 9:35 pm

So you:-

-run a search, find a gameinfo.txt
-Copy it to the root of your mod folder
-then make the changes as stated in the tutorial
Image Available now
User avatar
mr greenfish
1337 p0st3r
1337 p0st3r
 
Joined: Sat Dec 04, 2004 12:05 pm

Postby mainframe on Thu Oct 20, 2005 1:15 am

edit this post alot lol but ok finally getting some where bout fraking time aye ... compiled the textures to vtf and set it in the right folders(i had to make the console folder which had me scracthing my head : ( ) ... anyways my custom texture shows up when the game is loading then when the custom menu font pops up my background texture stretches for a spit second then turns back into the original hl2 background .... how do u disable the originals like u stated at the end of the tutorial ? i really appreciate your help dude took me 3 hours but im getting some where : ) finally thank goodness ;-)
Last edited by mainframe on Thu Oct 20, 2005 7:38 am, edited 1 time in total.
mainframe
Member
Member
 
Joined: Mon Oct 10, 2005 9:42 pm

Postby Blink on Thu Oct 20, 2005 7:37 am

Game info is : C:\Program Files\Valve\Steam\SteamApps\E-mail\half-life 2\hl2 in that folder.
User avatar
Blink
Cool 'n that
Cool 'n that
 
Joined: Fri Oct 08, 2004 4:16 pm
Location: UK

Postby mainframe on Thu Oct 20, 2005 7:41 am

yeah got that like 2 hours ago m8 u posted when iwas editing the post lol sorry trying not to be a post whore so soon
mainframe
Member
Member
 
Joined: Mon Oct 10, 2005 9:42 pm

Postby Thundercore on Fri Apr 14, 2006 12:06 pm

I've tried everything but i cant seem to fix it, maybe u guys can help.
The background01 i've used only works when loading, when im in the Main menu its just a black background.
Btw, is this possible? :
Background01 for loading
Background02 for Mainmenu and all chapters.
Thundercore
Just Joined
Just Joined
 
Joined: Fri Apr 14, 2006 11:23 am

Postby migedith on Mon Oct 23, 2006 1:39 am

when a load the game it says "cannot load library client", and the game closes. How do I fix this?
migedith
Member
Member
 
Joined: Sun Oct 22, 2006 5:03 am

Re: Custom Menu

Postby MOnline on Sat Mar 29, 2008 12:50 am

Hi,

my question isn't really about the menu itself but when the game is loading the menu you will see an image (i have got a custom image to work) but now I want to change the loading box (the black one with white letters) at the bottom right to have a different color how do i do this.

With kind regards,

MOnline

PS. your tutorials are great ;)
MOnline
Just Joined
Just Joined
 
Joined: Sat Mar 29, 2008 12:45 am

Re: Custom Menu

Postby shirk on Sat May 24, 2008 2:27 am

HOW DO I SAVE IT AS A TFF.FILE
shirk
Member
Member
 
Joined: Wed May 21, 2008 11:32 pm

Re: Custom Menu

Postby shirk on Sat May 24, 2008 2:43 am

WHERE IS THE MATERIAL/CONSOLE
shirk
Member
Member
 
Joined: Wed May 21, 2008 11:32 pm

Re: Custom Menu

Postby 1447 on Sat May 24, 2008 10:18 am

TO SAVE IT AS A .TTF FILE, WRITE .TFF AT THE END OF THE FILENAME WHEN YOU SAVE IT IN NOTEPAD, AND SELECT "ALL FILES" UNDER "SAVE AS TYPE" (BELOW THE NAME). LIKE THIS:

CAPSLOCK.JPG
CAPSLOCK.JPG (9.7 KiB) Viewed 7427 times

MATERIALS/CONSOLE IS IN YOUR SOURCEMODS/<MODNAME> FOLDER.

Yeah.
User avatar
1447
Veteran
Veteran
 
Joined: Tue May 22, 2007 7:28 am
Location: United States of Norway

Re: Custom Menu

Postby D.E.L.B. on Sat Aug 27, 2011 5:29 am

For some really odd reason, I've created a modified version of the original HL text (DIN-Regular) with my custom mod logo replaced with the A and no matter what I do nothing seems to budge.

I'm pretty sure the font is Aerial when adding my new line in the GameClient file. Not my custom one. It's not reading it in the resource folder.
D.E.L.B.
Member
Member
 
Joined: Tue Sep 01, 2009 3:11 am

Re: Custom Menu

Postby Ark11 on Sat Aug 27, 2011 5:35 am

*cough* Three Year Bump *clears throat* Ah, thats better.
"Drop kick me Jesus, through the goalposts of life." - Robert Bare
User avatar
Ark11
Senior Member
Senior Member
 
Joined: Mon May 24, 2010 10:02 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia
PreviousNext

Return to Tutorials

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users

cron