Get a '406 Not Acceptable' when I try to acess 'Lopers?

Comments & Suggestions about Interlopers.net

Get a '406 Not Acceptable' when I try to acess 'Lopers?

Postby Lord Ned on Tue Feb 24, 2009 2:15 am

When i try to get to Interlopers.net from school, I get a 406 Not Acceptable error.

The details are:
Image


My guess is this is caused by my schools web-filter. Can anyone provide any more ideas/insight about this?
Resident Source Guru, Competent Level Designer, Talented Artist, Horrible Speller
User avatar
Lord Ned
Sir Post-a-lot
Sir Post-a-lot
 
Joined: Thu Jul 17, 2008 8:42 pm

Re: Get a '406 Not Acceptable' when I try to acess 'Lopers?

Postby YokaI on Tue Feb 24, 2009 3:21 am

Definitely a blocked website...
YokaI
Forum Goer Elite™
Forum Goer Elite™
 
Joined: Fri Dec 03, 2004 12:38 am

Re: Get a '406 Not Acceptable' when I try to acess 'Lopers?

Postby Lord Ned on Tue Feb 24, 2009 5:21 am

The rest of the websites actually have a blocked page. This seems like an error Interlopers is generating based on something being blocked.
Resident Source Guru, Competent Level Designer, Talented Artist, Horrible Speller
User avatar
Lord Ned
Sir Post-a-lot
Sir Post-a-lot
 
Joined: Thu Jul 17, 2008 8:42 pm

Re: Get a '406 Not Acceptable' when I try to acess 'Lopers?

Postby srredfire on Tue Feb 24, 2009 8:17 am

I get this at AAU as well. Pisses me off. Every other forum works, just NOT LOPERS.
User avatar
srredfire
Veteran
Veteran
 
Joined: Sat Jul 22, 2006 10:44 pm

Re: Get a '406 Not Acceptable' when I try to acess 'Lopers?

Postby Blink on Tue Feb 24, 2009 8:32 am

Only one user reported this happening before now and he says it's resolved foe him so I thought we were in the clear. I think I know what is causing it. Will get back to you...
User avatar
Blink
Cool 'n that
Cool 'n that
 
Joined: Fri Oct 08, 2004 4:16 pm
Location: UK

Re: Get a '406 Not Acceptable' when I try to acess 'Lopers?

Postby Woe Kitten on Tue Feb 24, 2009 10:53 am

I had the same thing at work. I'll go ask the tech guys how they fixed it :)
Woe Kitten
BioWare
 
Joined: Fri Jan 06, 2006 8:01 pm
Location: Edmonton

Re: Get a '406 Not Acceptable' when I try to acess 'Lopers?

Postby Blink on Tue Feb 24, 2009 11:38 am

It's to do with mod_security on Apache, it's a firewall. In laymans terms, when users are browsing the site through some kind of proxy or something similar, it can't see who you are properly and as a precaution it denies access.

I'll need to tweak Apache at some point, but you lot at school should be working! :-D
User avatar
Blink
Cool 'n that
Cool 'n that
 
Joined: Fri Oct 08, 2004 4:16 pm
Location: UK

Re: Get a '406 Not Acceptable' when I try to acess 'Lopers?

Postby Notary on Tue Feb 24, 2009 2:08 pm

I was the unlucky one who got and reported it, right when map battle 31 started! Everything is still fine for me already. If you really need to acces the website from the place you get 406, you may use OperaTor browser, it's very laggy and slow but it somehow avoids 406. Just place the folder whenever you want, it doesn't need an installator.

http://files.myopera.com/archetwist/ope ... or-3.3.zip
Made in the USSR
Notary
Regular
Regular
 
Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2008 1:28 pm

Re: Get a '406 Not Acceptable' when I try to acess 'Lopers?

Postby srredfire on Tue Feb 24, 2009 8:23 pm

You fixed it Blink! I'm at school right now and it works! Good job <3
User avatar
srredfire
Veteran
Veteran
 
Joined: Sat Jul 22, 2006 10:44 pm

Re: Get a '406 Not Acceptable' when I try to acess 'Lopers?

Postby YokaI on Tue Feb 24, 2009 8:52 pm

Blink wrote:It's to do with mod_security on Apache, it's a firewall.


Huh, that's interesting. I thought a lot of websites used this though, so wouldn't it be a common error for people to run into in that case?
YokaI
Forum Goer Elite™
Forum Goer Elite™
 
Joined: Fri Dec 03, 2004 12:38 am

Re: Get a '406 Not Acceptable' when I try to acess 'Lopers?

Postby Blink on Tue Feb 24, 2009 10:05 pm

srredfire wrote:You fixed it Blink! I'm at school right now and it works! Good job <3


I haven't changed a thing, but I'll take the credit.
User avatar
Blink
Cool 'n that
Cool 'n that
 
Joined: Fri Oct 08, 2004 4:16 pm
Location: UK

Re: Get a '406 Not Acceptable' when I try to acess 'Lopers?

Postby Megadude on Tue Feb 24, 2009 11:04 pm

I thought it was just the forums having a bit of a bottom burp and going down for a bit. It's happened a couple of times for me over the past few days.
Wrathborne 711 wrote:OH MY GOD.........MEXICANS!


Image

End of Humanity - beta version 3.0 released!
User avatar
Megadude
Veteran
Veteran
 
Joined: Tue Sep 20, 2005 6:20 pm
Location: UK

Re: Get a '406 Not Acceptable' when I try to acess 'Lopers?

Postby Lord Ned on Thu Feb 26, 2009 2:45 am

Blink wrote:It's to do with mod_security on Apache, it's a firewall. In laymans terms, when users are browsing the site through some kind of proxy or something similar, it can't see who you are properly and as a precaution it denies access.

I'll need to tweak Apache at some point, but you lot at school should be working! :-D

Tell that to my advisory class which is free time. If I can't play games (Blocked. =() then I may as well contribute to 'lopers.

Blink wrote:
srredfire wrote:You fixed it Blink! I'm at school right now and it works! Good job <3


I haven't changed a thing, but I'll take the credit.


I'd tell you if your 'not doing anything but fixing' worked later... Schools DHCP server went kaput...

No DHCP = No IP's being assigned. No IP's being assigned = No logging on.
No logging on = DRAG/BORING.

And free time. :D
Resident Source Guru, Competent Level Designer, Talented Artist, Horrible Speller
User avatar
Lord Ned
Sir Post-a-lot
Sir Post-a-lot
 
Joined: Thu Jul 17, 2008 8:42 pm

Re: Get a '406 Not Acceptable' when I try to acess 'Lopers?

Postby Lord Ned on Fri Feb 27, 2009 4:08 am

Whatever you didn't do, didn't fix it. =(
Resident Source Guru, Competent Level Designer, Talented Artist, Horrible Speller
User avatar
Lord Ned
Sir Post-a-lot
Sir Post-a-lot
 
Joined: Thu Jul 17, 2008 8:42 pm

Return to Feedback Corner

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users