Need help Implementing 'Spells' into my Mod

Grab your favourite IDE and tinker with the innards of game engines

Need help Implementing 'Spells' into my Mod

Postby NZNobody on Mon Nov 21, 2011 3:30 am

Hey,
So basically I'm working on a mod for HL2 based of the WC3 map: Warlocks. I have managed to get clamped above you camera and free the mouse so that you always face where it is but now is the important part: clicking to cast spells.
First off: I'm a noob source coder and stumbled accross most I achieved so please take that into account!
Secondly: I have implemented a "Spell_Manager" as a entity and every player gets one, it manages (this allready works!) which spell is currently selected, cool downs, and the stats of spells (eg dammage, speed .... and so on). This spell manager is what actually 'casts' the spell by calling the function of the spell entities which I created:

Code: Select all
//This function actually fires the spells!
void CSpell_Manager::CastSpell(int iSpell, Vector vecOrigin, QAngle angAiming, CBasePlayer *pOwner )
{
   //BAM!
   switch(iSpell)
   {
   case FIREBALL :
      {
         CSpell_Fireball *pSpell = CSpell_Fireball::CreateSpell(&m_spFireball, vecOrigin, angAiming, pOwner);
         m_fCoolDown1=BASE_COOLDOWN_FIREBALL;

}
      break;
   case TRACKER :
      {
         CSpell_Tracker *pSpell = CSpell_Tracker::CreateSpell(&m_spTracker, vecOrigin, angAiming, pOwner);
         m_fCoolDown2=BASE_COOLDOWN_TRACKER;
      }
      break;
   case LIGHTNING :
      {
         CSpell_Lightning *pSpell = CSpell_Lightning::CreateSpell(&m_spLightning, vecOrigin, angAiming, pOwner);
         m_fCoolDown2=BASE_COOLDOWN_TRACKER;
      }
      break;
   }
}

The CreateSpell function looks like this:
Code: Select all
//-----------------------------------------------------------------------------
// Purpose: Called to actually create a Spell
//-----------------------------------------------------------------------------