Portfolio site in progress - feedback please

Show off new creations, get help, or just chat about all aspects of web development and design.

Portfolio site in progress - feedback please

Postby abathor on Fri Mar 20, 2009 2:47 pm

This is my first attempt at a website from scratch, and when I started, I pretty much had no fucking idea what I was doing. But it seems to have turned out okay. I don't know how to host on my local network at the minute, so just screenshots for now. I'd like to know what you all think of the colour scheme, layout, proportions, etc.

Comments, suggestions, critique, praise, and personal insults all welcome. Thank you for your time!
abathor
1337 p0st3r
1337 p0st3r

Re: Portfolio site in progress - feedback please

Postby mky on Fri Mar 20, 2009 4:17 pm

I like it except for the link bar (thingy), it doesn't seem as simple as everything else and is kind of out of place. That might just be me though.

It looks really nice for your first site from scratch. :)
mky
Been Here A While
Been Here A While

Postby zombie@computer on Fri Mar 20, 2009 6:02 pm

mky wrote:I like it except for the link bar (thingy), it doesn't seem as simple as everything else and is kind of out of place. That might just be me though.

Yeah, either simplify that bar, or (better yet imho) make a better banner.
When you are up to your neck in shit, keep your head up high
zombie@computer
Forum Goer Elite™
Forum Goer Elite™

Postby abathor on Fri Mar 20, 2009 7:43 pm

zombie@computer wrote:
mky wrote:I like it except for the link bar (thingy), it doesn't seem as simple as everything else and is kind of out of place. That might just be me though.

Hmm, how do you mean 'simplify' it'? As for the banner, that's really just a placeholder, I will think of something much better when the rest of the work is done.
abathor
1337 p0st3r
1337 p0st3r

Postby punky on Fri Mar 20, 2009 8:02 pm

abathor wrote:
zombie@computer wrote: