Menu chapters and intro vid question

Got problems with your models? Struggling with textures? Get help with your custom assets.

Menu chapters and intro vid question

Postby stukabomber44 on Sun Nov 21, 2010 5:25 pm

Hey guys,

I'm having a problem trying to name my chapters/sub chapters and having them shown correctly. As of right now they don't appear how I want them to, for example when I click new game this is what shows up:

Chapter 1
#The Courier_chapter_title

I'm cool with the top being Chapter 1 but how do I make it show the sub title under Chapter One say something basic like "the Beginning" ??

Second question, I've made a small 15 second video that I would like to add to my game when it runs, like the valve company video, I put the file my_video.avi in my media folder. I also have a StartupVids.txt file and inside that I have th following:

media/my_video.avi

I'm wondering what could be the problem.

Thanks a lot guys,

SB44
stukabomber44
Regular
Regular
 
Joined: Sun Nov 14, 2010 7:33 pm
Location: Canada

Re: Menu chapters and intro vid question

Postby Mephasto on Sun Nov 21, 2010 5:36 pm

its the modname_english that defines your chapter titles in menu screen. should be in mod/resource folder.
User avatar
Mephasto
May Contain Skills
May Contain Skills
 
Joined: Sun Aug 19, 2007 7:03 pm
Location: Finland, Tampere

Re: Menu chapters and intro vid question

Postby stukabomber44 on Sun Nov 21, 2010 5:39 pm

so instead of hl2_english.txt, i should make the the courier_enlish.txt ?? should there be a space or should i fill it with an underscore??

this is what i currently have:

"lang"
{
"Language" "English"
"Tokens"
{

"HL2_Chapter1_Title_" "Just another day"
"HL2_Chapter2_Title_" "What the F***!?"
"HL2_Chapter3_Title_" "Find a safe area somehow"
}
}
stukabomber44
Regular
Regular
 
Joined: Sun Nov 14, 2010 7:33 pm
Location: Canada

Re: Menu chapters and intro vid question

Postby Mephasto on Sun Nov 21, 2010 5:44 pm

does the name have .txt in end? i found it wont work if it has that in end. it can be txt type but dont name it blaablaa.txt

yeah it might work like that, also if you want chapter message to trigger when you start it. go into map properties and put the HL2_Chapter1_Title value in "chapter title" and it sends the same name that you have in txt file (Just another day)
User avatar
Mephasto
May Contain Skills
May Contain Skills
 
Joined: Sun Aug 19, 2007 7:03 pm
Location: Finland, Tampere

Re: Menu chapters and intro vid question

Postby stukabomber44 on Sun Nov 21, 2010 7:22 pm

Ah man, I can't seem to figure it out. I've read the valve SDK one too, still doesn't want to change. Also I somehow managed to make my background screen a moving background image of one of my maps. I DIDN'T EVEN MEAN TO! How do I change it back to the static menu? Yikes, this day is just problem after problem...
stukabomber44
Regular
Regular
 
Joined: Sun Nov 14, 2010 7:33 pm
Location: Canada

Re: Menu chapters and intro vid question

Postby stukabomber44 on Sun Nov 21, 2010 8:57 pm

Would anyone know why my background image turns to a purple and black check-board? I'm 95% sure I did everything right. But what could be the cause of this???
in my materials\console i have the following files:

background01.vtf
background01.vmt
background01_widescreen.vtf
background01_widesceen.vmt

....any ideas?

This is incredibly frustrating, the game loads fine with the background image I want, then when the menu is done loading it goes to a purple and black check-board... yuk...

Thanks guys,

SB44
stukabomber44
Regular
Regular
 
Joined: Sun Nov 14, 2010 7:33 pm
Location: Canada

Re: Menu chapters and intro vid question

Postby Gradius on Sun Nov 21, 2010 9:18 pm

Check the vtf flags. You should have no-mipmaps and no-LOD checked.
User avatar
Gradius
1337 p0st3r
1337 p0st3r
 
Joined: Thu Aug 27, 2009 2:52 pm

Re: Menu customization, chapters and intro vid question

Postby stukabomber44 on Sun Nov 21, 2010 9:31 pm

I didn't have them checked initially, but now I did - still no change, still that purple/black board.


Something I just edited, was ChapterBackgrounds

"chapters"
{
1 "background01"
}

now it just goes black, i know I'm onto something here, any ideas?

I've scoured the internet trying to figure out how to also limit what the options given to the player are in the intro menu. I just want to have New game, Load, Options. Can you gents tell me how I could accomplish that?
stukabomber44
Regular
Regular
 
Joined: Sun Nov 14, 2010 7:33 pm
Location: Canada

Re: Menu chapters and intro vid question

Postby Groxkiller585 on Sat Dec 11, 2010 4:23 am

The menu options are in GameMenu.res, to edit it simply open it with notepad. If you don't want, say, the achivement list (no point anyway...) either // it out or delete it.

Also, what are the VMT's of the two? can we see them? The path to the VTF may be wrong, or you forgot a few important parameters.

as an example:

Code: Select all
"lang"
{
"Language" "English"
"Tokens"
{
"Modname_Chapter1_Title" "Dropping In"
"Modname_Chapter2_Title" "Secrets Abound"
"Modname_Chapter3_Title" "The Stalker Strider"
}
}


Example of MODNAME.txt.
User avatar
Groxkiller585
Sir Post-a-lot
Sir Post-a-lot
 
Joined: Fri Jul 09, 2010 3:43 pm

Return to Custom Asset Help

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users