Custom Cubemaps

Got problems with your models? Struggling with textures? Get help with your custom assets.

Custom Cubemaps

Postby Mr. Happy on Mon Dec 13, 2010 11:45 pm

Has anyone got custom cubemaps to work? I'm making an oily texture and want the cubemap to be a dark rainbow rather than an env_cubemap. I created six tga's and imported them into vtfedit at the same time. Set Texture Type to "Environment Map" and vtf version to 7.2 (also tried with 7.4). Left generate spheremap unchecked and generate mipmaps checked (also tried with unchecked). Everything seems ok in vtfedit, the Environment map flag is checked and it says the texture has 1 frame and six faces. I've tried using the "Clamp S" & "Clamp T", "No Mipmaps" and "Hint DXT5" flags and also not using them. VMT says:
Code: Select all
 "$envmap" "Environment Maps/oily_envmap"

In game it's error tex'd and the console says:
Code: Select all
Error reading material data "materials/environment maps/oily_envmap.vtf"


I tested it with "Environment Maps/borealis_003" as the "$envmap" and that worked so I guess there's something wrong with how I'm creating the vtf.
Image
-You've just been happified!?
User avatar
Mr. Happy
Forum Goer Elite™
Forum Goer Elite™
 
Joined: Sat Dec 30, 2006 9:20 am
Location: Flyin' thru "da cloud" in the MotherShip

Re: Custom Cubemaps

Postby Groxkiller585 on Wed Dec 15, 2010 1:41 am

Check the VMT for the texture that uses the custom envmap (the one that works), and also check the envmap itself's flags, and copy it. Maybe you missed a small-but-important detail?
User avatar
Groxkiller585
Sir Post-a-lot
Sir Post-a-lot
 
Joined: Fri Jul 09, 2010 3:43 pm

Re: Custom Cubemaps

Postby omnicoder on Wed Dec 15, 2010 1:46 am

VTFedit doesn't produce completely correct vtfs, try using valve's vtf tool.
Image
If only the future implemented IForeseeable...
"whats threading? does it have to do with strings?" - stegarootbeer
User avatar
omnicoder
Been Here A While
Been Here A While
 
Joined: Sun Feb 07, 2010 8:35 am

Re: Custom Cubemaps

Postby Mr. Happy on Wed Dec 15, 2010 4:40 am

Thanks for the help guys. Turns out that an environment map has to be a version 7.0 vtf, it causes error texture with all the newer versions. If anyone else is wondering, the right flags to use are Clamp S, Clamp T, and No Mipmap (and Environment Map of course).

Here is a template I just made for making things line up:

Image
Image
-You've just been happified!?
User avatar
Mr. Happy
Forum Goer Elite™
Forum Goer Elite™
 
Joined: Sat Dec 30, 2006 9:20 am
Location: Flyin' thru "da cloud" in the MotherShip

Return to Custom Asset Help

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users