Animating shadows

Got problems with your models? Struggling with textures? Get help with your custom assets.

Re: Animating shadows

Postby cz_squishy on Thu Oct 20, 2011 6:50 am

use the models dynamic shadow and a env_shadowcontroller cleverly
User avatar
cz_squishy
Sir Post-a-lot
Sir Post-a-lot
 
Joined: Sat Jan 31, 2009 12:02 am
Location: Bottom Dakota

Re: Animating shadows

Postby boing on Thu Oct 20, 2011 7:28 am

cz_squishy wrote:use the models dynamic shadow and a env_shadowcontroller cleverly

so a light_dynamic will still cast shadows on older machines/low settings?
boing
Member
Member
 
Joined: Wed May 12, 2010 10:07 am

Re: Animating shadows

Postby cz_squishy on Thu Oct 20, 2011 8:06 am

Light, light_spot, and shadow_controller
Image
User avatar
cz_squishy
Sir Post-a-lot
Sir Post-a-lot
 
Joined: Sat Jan 31, 2009 12:02 am
Location: Bottom Dakota

Re: Animating shadows

Postby boing on Thu Oct 20, 2011 8:56 am

that simple? ...wow thanks
boing
Member
Member
 
Joined: Wed May 12, 2010 10:07 am

Re: Animating shadows

Postby Gary on Thu Oct 20, 2011 12:33 pm

Won't that affect ALL the RTT shadows in the map?
Have a question related to modding or something I posted? Something that needs staff attention? I haven't been active lately, but feel free to PM me or message me on Steam(link below)

User avatar
Gary
Interlopers Staff
Interlopers Staff
 
Joined: Wed Dec 16, 2009 12:40 am
Location: USA, FL

Re: Animating shadows

Postby cz_squishy on Thu Oct 20, 2011 6:03 pm

Gary wrote:Won't that affect ALL the RTT shadows in the map?

Yes, but you can have multiple shadow_controllers
User avatar
cz_squishy
Sir Post-a-lot
Sir Post-a-lot
 
Joined: Sat Jan 31, 2009 12:02 am
Location: Bottom Dakota

Re: Animating shadows

Postby Gary on Fri Nov 04, 2011 6:53 am

dark0r wrote:The best way to do this would to make an entity for this. Override ShouldDraw with:
return BaseClass::ShouldDraw() && CurrentViewID() != VIEWID_MAIN;

This will make the model invisible, but the shadow visible.


Lies!

CurrentViewID() does nothing for me, always returns 0(view_main). Even within the viewrender.cpp.

Btw, it's VIEW_MAIN, not VIEWID_MAIN.
Have a question related to modding or something I posted? Something that needs staff attention? I haven't been active lately, but feel free to PM me or message me on Steam(link below)

User avatar
Gary
Interlopers Staff
Interlopers Staff
 
Joined: Wed Dec 16, 2009 12:40 am
Location: USA, FL

Re: Animating shadows

Postby cra0kalo on Fri Nov 04, 2011 10:07 pm

use a env_projectedtextures and change the lighting of the model via console.
Cra0kalo
CG Artist/3D Animator
http://cra0kalo.com

Lead of Operation Reaper
http://projectreaper.com

Lead of the "Dark Alley" Project
http://alleyproject.net
User avatar
cra0kalo
Regular
Regular
 
Joined: Thu Apr 28, 2011 2:35 am

Re: Animating shadows

Postby Ver on Tue Nov 15, 2011 3:00 am

cz_squishy wrote:Light, light_spot, and shadow_controller
Image


I believe this is the best method for cheap machines, but might someone explain to me (or us) how to utilize multiple shadow controllers? Is it as easy as placing many of them, and whichever you're nearest it will use, or do they have to be triggered via trigger volumes?
Ver
Dumpling
Dumpling
 
Joined: Sun Sep 04, 2011 3:48 am

Re: Animating shadows

Postby Gary on Tue Nov 15, 2011 3:10 am

You have to trigger them.
Have a question related to modding or something I posted? Something that needs staff attention? I haven't been active lately, but feel free to PM me or message me on Steam(link below)

User avatar
Gary
Interlopers Staff
Interlopers Staff
 
Joined: Wed Dec 16, 2009 12:40 am
Location: USA, FL

Re: Animating shadows

Postby Ver on Tue Nov 15, 2011 3:21 am

Thanks!
Ver
Dumpling
Dumpling
 
Joined: Sun Sep 04, 2011 3:48 am
Previous

Return to Custom Asset Help

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users

cron