Page 1 of 2

Having problems with 1 model, will pay 7$ for help

PostPosted: Wed Mar 06, 2013 3:47 am
by fpp
Hi, i am having problems with a model i am trying to use on my hl2dm servers let me describe what i am trying to do.

I want to make this model http://unitedgamers.eu/cod/ULTIM.rar act like a bomb using this plugin https://forums.alliedmods.net/showthread.php?p=1789358 but the problem is it just gets stuck in the air, normally once you release a bomb it should "fly out of you" but this model just gets stuck in the air.

I have read on the plugin description quote "Some models tend to get stuck inside of each other and they all just freeze together. You just need to try some and find good ones that don't"

My friend that designed the model i am having issues with said it should look inside like the current model i am using "models/props_junk/PropaneCanister001a.mdl" and work, but it doesn't, it just freezes in mid air once its released.

I don't know anything about model designing or such and the few people i have asked have not been able to help me with it thats why i am turning to you guys.

If someone will be able to help me make this model work on my server with that plugin like the current one does i will give you a 7$ PaySafeCard in return, PaySafeCards are accepted in a lot of online stores, they are also accepted on Steam, i can also send it to you via Moneybookers(Skrill),this will take ~2-3 days though till i upload the funds.

Hope someone will be able to help me out with this, thanks in advance ! :smt023

Re: Having problems with 1 model, will pay 7$ for help

PostPosted: Wed Mar 06, 2013 9:21 pm
by Black_Stormy
post .qc

Edit: I have no idea what you're trying to do but that video looks like it requires physics props. I assume your prop has been compiled as a static prop. Post .qc

Re: Having problems with 1 model, will pay 7$ for help

PostPosted: Wed Mar 06, 2013 10:36 pm
by fpp
I'll ask my mate that designed the model for it and post back, i don't know what that is cause i don't work with models but he probably will.

Re: Having problems with 1 model, will pay 7$ for help

PostPosted: Wed Mar 06, 2013 11:38 pm
by fpp

Re: Having problems with 1 model, will pay 7$ for help

PostPosted: Thu Mar 07, 2013 10:19 am
by Black_Stormy
$modelname Whipperz/UG_Bomb/UG_bomb.mdl
$cdmaterials "models/Whipperz/UG_Bomb"
$scale 12
$surfaceprop "metal"
$staticprop
$body mybody "UG_bomb.smd"

$sequence idle "UG_bomb" fps 30
$collisionmodel “UG_bomb.smd”
{
$mass 45
$concave
}
$keyvalues
{
“prop_data”
{
“base” "Metal.Small"
}
}


tell him to remove $staticprop and recompile it, although I'm not 100% it will work.

Re: Having problems with 1 model, will pay 7$ for help

PostPosted: Thu Mar 07, 2013 10:24 am
by fpp
Thank you, ill tell him when he comes online and test it out, if it does indeed work the cash is yours, ill post back as soon as i give it a try.

Re: Having problems with 1 model, will pay 7$ for help

PostPosted: Thu Mar 07, 2013 11:45 am
by Black_Stormy
Not interested in your 7 bucks mate.

Re: Having problems with 1 model, will pay 7$ for help

PostPosted: Thu Mar 07, 2013 4:38 pm
by shadowmancer471
Good guy stormy
Samaritan of interlopers

Re: Having problems with 1 model, will pay 7$ for help

PostPosted: Thu Mar 07, 2013 5:04 pm
by Major Banter
#ballin

Re: Having problems with 1 model, will pay 7$ for help

PostPosted: Thu Mar 07, 2013 6:17 pm
by LordDz
Can I have the money then? ;)

Re: Having problems with 1 model, will pay 7$ for help

PostPosted: Fri Mar 08, 2013 1:10 am
by fpp
I have tested it out, it acts the same as before,not working :smt010

Re: Having problems with 1 model, will pay 7$ for help

PostPosted: Fri Mar 08, 2013 6:03 pm
by kraid
Try this one.
http://www.mediafire.com/?338c900oim0ruh3

I've done a new collision model and even improved the prop visually while still reducing the polycount i think.
Ofc. even better results could have been achived if the source files, especially the textures, would have been available uncompressed and in a higher resolution.
Image

Re: Having problems with 1 model, will pay 7$ for help

PostPosted: Sat Mar 09, 2013 2:12 am
by Whipper
Hello there

Guess it's about time i introduced myself, iv been visiting this site for some time now (sitting silently in the back) watching and reading some of the helpful and great work alot of the folk here do.. so first off i thank you.
I am the designer of that bomb mdl, i normaly map for hl2dm and have recently started to get more into creating models and props ect using blender.

Black_stormy,Kraid thanks for your help but sadly the model is still not working with fpp's server plugin, it still freezes and now looks like this:Image
Shame it didnt work but im going to give him something else to try, hopefully that works.
I have afew questions for you you both (probably help me when creating future mdls for the source engine) i noticed i may have used abit more polys than needed for the mdl & i noticed you have added a mask onto the diffuse texture of the bomb's fuse and fuse tip.. am i correct on thinking this is for the added $illumposition 0.000 0.000 0.000 in the QC?? also on the vmt you have Trilinear & Anisotropic checkd Why have both? or does that not matter? and why have you checkd the normal when it is not the normal map? and finaly black_stormy iv watchd afew of your vids on YouTube some nice work man, care to explain more about how to compile mdl's without GUIStudio.... i apologise for all the questions im new here^^

Cheers
Whipper

Re: Having problems with 1 model, will pay 7$ for help

PostPosted: Sat Mar 09, 2013 4:21 am
by kraid
As for your questions:
The normalmap checked on the diffuese is a mistake.
Also, please remove the 2 on UG_bomb_nrml2.vtf to make it appear instead of the checkerboard texture.
Simply a copy&past mistake i made there, sorry.
I've moved the spec mask to the normalmap and added a selfillum mask to the diffuse.
illumposition has nothing to do with that, its just the position at which the prop lightning will be sampled.
I left it in there for no particular reason, in fact setting it to 0.000 0.000 0.000 will leaf it at the prop origin, altering one of these values move it away from the origin.

If the prop still doesn't work, try to increase the weight or slightly decrease the size, preferably in your 3d app. not with scale in the .qc

Re: Having problems with 1 model, will pay 7$ for help

PostPosted: Sat Mar 09, 2013 5:33 pm
by Whipper
Thanks for the fast response & cheers for explaining more on the illumposition.
Iv resized the mdl and cut down on afew polys from the original smd. and gave the new compile bk to him, he will be testing it out later on 2night so fingers crossed it works^^

thanks once again.