props with Multiple Skins

Got problems with your models? Struggling with textures? Get help with your custom assets.

props with Multiple Skins

Postby akmassassin on Mon Aug 01, 2005 10:56 pm

Hey Ive been trying to make this custom model for days, in my qc im using:

$texturegroup skinfamilies
{
{ "cbarrels001b.vmt" }
{ "cbarrels001c.vmt" }
{ "cbarrels001d.vmt" }
{ "cbarrels001e.vmt" }
{ "cbarrels001f.vmt" }
{ "cbarrels001g.vmt" }
{ "cbarrels001h.vmt" }
{ "cbarrels001i.vmt" }
{ "cbarrels001j.vmt" }
{ "cbarrels001k.vmt" }
{ "cbarrels001l.vmt" }
{ "cbarrels001m.vmt" }
}


It compiles succesfully to a .mdl but when i try to put it to skin2, 3, 4... well the list of skin is there but the model texture dosent change, it stays still. My main texture is named cbarrels001a.vmt and my material groups in 3ds max are just right, i use multisub object with main texture (cbarrels001a) and 2 other small textures for deatails... how do i set cbarrels001a to switch with b, c, d, e..etc? My .vmt and .vmf for all the textures can be seen in hammer texture browser so thats not the problem..
Thx to anyone that can help!
akmassassin
Dumpling
Dumpling
 
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2005 10:31 pm
Location: QC canada

Postby Farles on Mon Aug 01, 2005 11:50 pm

try putting VTF instead of VMT in the texture name of your command...
User avatar
Farles
Been Here A While
Been Here A While
 
Joined: Thu Jan 27, 2005 4:33 am
Location: Montreal, Canada

Postby akmassassin on Tue Aug 02, 2005 12:18 am

Well i took that command from the qc of c17 oil barrel witch you can change its textures... but ill try that
akmassassin
Dumpling
Dumpling
 
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2005 10:31 pm
Location: QC canada

Postby slayera on Tue Aug 02, 2005 2:53 am

Here is a copy of my .qc that used skins, try setting up in the format I have.


$modelname golf\golfbag.mdl

$cdmaterials \models\golf

//$staticprop

//$surfaceprop "plastic"

$scale 20


$body studio "golfbag"

//Skins

$texturegroup skinfamilies
{
{ "golfbag" "skin0" }
{ "golfbagred" "skin1" }
{ "golfbagyellow" "skin2" }


}


$sequence idle "golfbag" loop fps 15

$keyvalues { "prop_data" { "base" "item.medium" } }

$collisionmodel "golfbag_p.smd" {
// Mass in kilograms
$Mass 15
$concave
}

The name of material is in quotes. So try yours like this...

$texturegroup skinfamilies
{
{ "cbarrels001b" "skin0"}
{ "cbarrels001c" "skin1"}
...
Image


"When one person suffers from a delusion it is called insanity. When many people suffer from a delusion it is called religion." -Robert Pirsig
User avatar
slayera
Veteran
Veteran
 
Joined: Wed Dec 08, 2004 3:15 am
Location: Near the world's only super volcano.

Postby akmassassin on Tue Aug 02, 2005 2:57 am

nice thx man, ill try that tomorow im very tired now! :D
akmassassin
Dumpling
Dumpling
 
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2005 10:31 pm
Location: QC canada

Postby Farles on Tue Aug 02, 2005 4:08 am

ho ya, good one slayera, forgot that "skin0" part.... I always Copy/paste from a existing qc so I dont always check....
User avatar
Farles
Been Here A While
Been Here A While
 
Joined: Thu Jan 27, 2005 4:33 am
Location: Montreal, Canada

Return to Custom Asset Help

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users

cron