Modelling a tree using sprites

Modelling, Textures, Animating and other general engine asset topics.

Modelling a tree using sprites

Postby andy4729 on Sun Oct 16, 2011 10:47 am

Hi there,

I'm having a bit of a problem modelling a tree. I'm trying to do it using 'sprites' for branches. So I've got a texture of a brance with an alpha channel on a flat plane and them duplicate it loads.

Problem is, once I've put the model into source the texture only shows on one side of the plane which obviously looks crap. Any ideas on how I can get the texture to show on both sides?

I'm using Maya btw.

Thanks
We're squatting in a system that consistently stalls
User avatar
andy4729
Regular
Regular
 
Joined: Sat Sep 09, 2006 7:26 pm
Location: Canterbury, United Kingdom

Re: Modelling a tree using sprites

Postby MrTwoVideoCards on Sun Oct 16, 2011 11:20 am

$nocull 1 in the vmt
User avatar
MrTwoVideoCards
Monothetic
 
Joined: Thu Aug 02, 2007 11:18 am
Location: IN YOUR SOUL

Re: Modelling a tree using sprites

Postby andy4729 on Sun Oct 16, 2011 12:06 pm

Excellent. Thank you! I was hoping there'd be an easy solution like this :)
We're squatting in a system that consistently stalls
User avatar
andy4729
Regular
Regular
 
Joined: Sat Sep 09, 2006 7:26 pm
Location: Canterbury, United Kingdom

Re: Modelling a tree using sprites

Postby Black_Stormy on Mon Oct 17, 2011 9:15 am

This does raise a good point though, all the valve tree models are nocull models using alpha mapped planes. Sprites are cheaper to render and they don't look particularly bad. Have any games or mods tried using Sprites for leaves? I'd like to see how it went.
User avatar
Black_Stormy
May Contain Skills
May Contain Skills
 
Joined: Sun Nov 28, 2010 6:03 am
Location: Cairns, QLD, AUS

Re: Modelling a tree using sprites

Postby Jordash on Mon Oct 17, 2011 2:40 pm

I think he means planes, how could you see the opposite side of a sprite?

They hunger for HL1 used sprites in trees, but it isn't the most advanced approach these days
User avatar
Jordash
Been Here A While
Been Here A While
 
Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2009 10:36 am
Location: Perth, Australia

Re: Modelling a tree using sprites

Postby Sgt Frag on Tue Nov 08, 2011 7:33 pm

Oblivion used particle (sprite) trees and we used them some in The Dark Mod too (Doom3 Thief total conversion).

They can look really good as they give a tree top a very round bushy look that is hard to do without tons on planes.

They can look pretty bad too, as the particles always face the player. If you stand really close, look at the leaves and spin your view, the leaves spin with you. Kaliedescope effect. I still think the look pretty good overall, it's just discerning mostly while screwing around spinning looking right at the leaves.
---------------

I've gotten to the point where I just prefer to clone the leaf planes and flip normals and combine them with the model.

That's what nocull does anyway. But using nocull gives you an 'artificial' tri count. You see 1400 tris in 3d program, but in game it's really 2400 tris. If you just build them yourself you know exactly what you have.
Sgt Frag
Regular
Regular
 
Joined: Thu Jul 03, 2008 8:25 pm

Return to Art Creation

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users

cron