Arched modular train track?

Modelling, Textures, Animating and other general engine asset topics.

Arched modular train track?

Postby marnamai on Mon Jan 30, 2012 4:43 pm

I am trying to create a modular arched track by using the spacing tool in 3ds max.
First I made an arch with a radius of 2048 starting at 0 and ending at 22,5°for the wooden beams, then made 2 others at 2012 and 2084 for the rails. However
Image
This shows the problem better, I need it to follow that exact arch otherwise it won't be modular, I need it to be modular so I can make 22,5 ,45 and 90° bends with a single model copied in hammer.
Image
Image
Last edited by marnamai on Mon Jan 30, 2012 6:41 pm, edited 4 times in total.
User avatar
marnamai
Veteran
Veteran
 
Joined: Thu Nov 10, 2005 12:17 pm
Location: Belgium

Re: Arched modular train track?

Postby Gambini on Mon Jan 30, 2012 5:19 pm

I don´t know which method are you using but sometimes simple solutions give better results. I made a curve for a railroad similar to yours sometime ago and all i had to do to match width tracks was giving an offset forward to the outermost beam. Use two straight modules as reference, one in the curve´s start position and the other rotated and in the curve´s end position. Then make the inner beam match the curve and that will tell you how much the outer has to be moved.

If that isnt clear enough i can attach images.
User avatar
Gambini
Sir Post-a-lot
Sir Post-a-lot
 
Joined: Mon Oct 20, 2008 1:52 am
Location: Buenos Aires, Argentina.

Re: Arched modular train track?

Postby marnamai on Mon Jan 30, 2012 5:31 pm

wouldn't an offset just move the beam by X units, while it should be longer instead while following the outer cruve instead of the inner?

edit: I am using this method for the wooden parts: http://www.fanhow.com/knowhow:Use_spaci ... X_35165692
User avatar
marnamai
Veteran
Veteran
 
Joined: Thu Nov 10, 2005 12:17 pm
Location: Belgium

Re: Arched modular train track?

Postby Gambini on Mon Jan 30, 2012 5:44 pm

I don´t know what´s the algorithm used for actual railroads (i should research, i have a few engineering books that talk about that), but what i just described will make it look perfectly. Trust me, i have tried and it works.

EDIT: Maybe if the curve is too tight or you want a very realistic result, you could create the curve as part of a circle, then resizing this circle respecting the compass will make those curves match. Just an idea.
User avatar
Gambini
Sir Post-a-lot
Sir Post-a-lot
 
Joined: Mon Oct 20, 2008 1:52 am
Location: Buenos Aires, Argentina.

Re: Arched modular train track?

Postby marks on Mon Jan 30, 2012 6:38 pm

Just use the Bend modifier. 50 times easier, and it actually works.
User avatar
marks
Creative Assembly
Creative Assembly
 
Joined: Tue Aug 16, 2005 5:07 pm

Re: Arched modular train track?

Postby marnamai on Mon Jan 30, 2012 6:42 pm

ok I 'll look into it

edit: Thanks Marks, that's exactly what I needed :D
User avatar
marnamai
Veteran
Veteran
 
Joined: Thu Nov 10, 2005 12:17 pm
Location: Belgium

Re: Arched modular train track?

Postby dissonance on Mon Jan 30, 2012 9:08 pm

also consider making the prop's origin the same as the origin of the track and using an info_lighting to compensate
i had fun once, and it was awful.
User avatar
dissonance
Veteran
Veteran
 
Joined: Wed Oct 10, 2007 12:35 am
Location: usa

Re: Arched modular train track?

Postby marnamai on Mon Jan 30, 2012 10:30 pm

Good tip on the prop orgin, but info_lighting is pretty much obsolete with -StaticPropLighting and -StaticPropPolys
User avatar
marnamai
Veteran
Veteran
 
Joined: Thu Nov 10, 2005 12:17 pm
Location: Belgium

Return to Art Creation

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot]

cron