Animating shadows

Got problems with your models? Struggling with textures? Get help with your custom assets.

Animating shadows

Postby boing on Tue Oct 18, 2011 12:27 pm

I am trying to create something like "attacking shadows" The famous Nosferatu sceene is probably the closest to what i want to achieve http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mCUW4SwmfGc
Any thoughts how to create something like this? I was thinking about an invisible model casting shadows. Is that even possible?
boing
Member
Member
 
Joined: Wed May 12, 2010 10:07 am

Re: Animating shadows

Postby LordDz on Tue Oct 18, 2011 1:04 pm

env_projectedtexture.
[youtube]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4xxC3NW8WFA&feature=channel_video_title[/youtube]

That's one video that does somewhat similar stuff that you want, it's in the map pimpage thread.

But there is another movie on youtube, which also is in a thread somewhere here which did a animated movie.. Hmm..
User avatar
LordDz
May Contain Skills
May Contain Skills
 
Joined: Mon Sep 01, 2008 12:28 pm
Location: Hammer Crash Logs

Re: Animating shadows

Postby boing on Tue Oct 18, 2011 1:15 pm

Yeah i though about this too, but dont i need a visible model for it to work? The shadows should show up without a visible object casting them...
boing
Member
Member
 
Joined: Wed May 12, 2010 10:07 am

Re: Animating shadows

Postby Gary on Tue Oct 18, 2011 3:29 pm

You can make a model invisible but still cast shadows, I am away from the computer so I can't say how at the moment.
Have a question related to modding or something I posted? Something that needs staff attention? I haven't been active lately, but feel free to PM me or message me on Steam(link below)

User avatar
Gary
Interlopers Staff
Interlopers Staff
 
Joined: Wed Dec 16, 2009 12:40 am
Location: USA, FL

Re: Animating shadows

Postby DA_iM on Wed Oct 19, 2011 2:32 pm

maybe you can hold the model which is casting the shadows out of the players view? so when the player reaches a defined point near the model, it can run away or be killed!?
mh, but then the shadows are gone too....=/
http://www.team-iplay.de

How to get pro?
- DA!M -
User avatar
DA_iM
Member
Member
 
Joined: Fri Sep 09, 2011 8:45 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Animating shadows

Postby Gary on Wed Oct 19, 2011 2:42 pm

I'll figure it out when I get home.
Have a question related to modding or something I posted? Something that needs staff attention? I haven't been active lately, but feel free to PM me or message me on Steam(link below)

User avatar
Gary
Interlopers Staff
Interlopers Staff
 
Joined: Wed Dec 16, 2009 12:40 am
Location: USA, FL

Re: Animating shadows

Postby nub on Wed Oct 19, 2011 4:28 pm

I know for a fact you can have an invisible model cast shadows. I played a minigame map in CSS called Invisible Man and you could cheat by turning your flashlight on to cast a shadow of the invisible player if they were directly in front of you.

So an env_projectedtexture would definitely be needed.
User avatar
nub
Veteran
Veteran
 
Joined: Tue Nov 15, 2005 1:11 am
Location: Charlotte, NC, US

Re: Animating shadows

Postby dark0r on Wed Oct 19, 2011 7:04 pm

The best way to do this would to make an entity for this. Override ShouldDraw with:
return BaseClass::ShouldDraw() && CurrentViewID() != VIEWID_MAIN;

This will make the model invisible, but the shadow visible.
dark0r
Been Here A While
Been Here A While
 
Joined: Sat Mar 25, 2006 10:16 am
Location: de_hell

Re: Animating shadows

Postby boing on Wed Oct 19, 2011 7:54 pm

dark0r wrote:The best way to do this would to make an entity for this. Override ShouldDraw with:
return BaseClass::ShouldDraw() && CurrentViewID() != VIEWID_MAIN;

This will make the model invisible, but the shadow visible.

hmm.. my coder is offline and i have no idea what youre talking about :D ill ask him asap


curious about garys solution
boing
Member
Member
 
Joined: Wed May 12, 2010 10:07 am

Re: Animating shadows

Postby cz_squishy on Wed Oct 19, 2011 8:17 pm

I've done this before with some I/O, i'll see if I can find it

Found it. Set Render Mode to Don't Render
User avatar
cz_squishy
Sir Post-a-lot
Sir Post-a-lot
 
Joined: Sat Jan 31, 2009 12:02 am
Location: Bottom Dakota

Re: Animating shadows

Postby Smurftyours on Wed Oct 19, 2011 8:37 pm

Your all over complicating this. Turn smart edit off on the model, and add a new value "rendermode" and a value of 10 (I think that is the don't render value) and success. I have done this many times, unfortunately I don't have SDK installed and plan onto moving into UDK on my new computer.
jangalomph wrote:Wise words from a wise man. ^
User avatar
Smurftyours
Senior Member
Senior Member
 
Joined: Tue Aug 04, 2009 6:11 pm
Location: California, US.

Re: Animating shadows

Postby Gary on Wed Oct 19, 2011 9:09 pm

boing wrote:curious about garys solution


Forget about it, I can't get it to work right now.

Also, beware if this is a major gameplay mechanic... those with old hardware or "shadows" set to anything but "high" will not see shadows from the env_projectedtexture/flashlight.
Have a question related to modding or something I posted? Something that needs staff attention? I haven't been active lately, but feel free to PM me or message me on Steam(link below)

User avatar
Gary
Interlopers Staff
Interlopers Staff
 
Joined: Wed Dec 16, 2009 12:40 am
Location: USA, FL

Re: Animating shadows

Postby cz_squishy on Wed Oct 19, 2011 10:08 pm

Smurftyours wrote:Your all over complicating this. Turn smart edit off on the model, and add a new value "rendermode" and a value of 10 (I think that is the don't render value) and success. I have done this many times, unfortunately I don't have SDK installed and plan onto moving into UDK on my new computer.

Same thing as mine
User avatar
cz_squishy
Sir Post-a-lot
Sir Post-a-lot
 
Joined: Sat Jan 31, 2009 12:02 am
Location: Bottom Dakota

Re: Animating shadows

Postby Smurftyours on Wed Oct 19, 2011 10:31 pm

Ah, but it works on stuff that doesn't originally have that option.
jangalomph wrote:Wise words from a wise man. ^
User avatar
Smurftyours
Senior Member
Senior Member
 
Joined: Tue Aug 04, 2009 6:11 pm
Location: California, US.

Re: Animating shadows

Postby boing on Thu Oct 20, 2011 6:21 am

Gary wrote:Also, beware if this is a major gameplay mechanic... those with old hardware or "shadows" set to anything but "high" will not see shadows from the env_projectedtexture/flashlight.


damn, forgot about it.... cant i force the use of env_projectedtexture even on older machines? or is there another way to have dynamic shadows or at lease fake them properly?
boing
Member
Member
 
Joined: Wed May 12, 2010 10:07 am
Next

Return to Custom Asset Help

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users