Exporting Maya in XSI

Got problems with your models? Struggling with textures? Get help with your custom assets.

Exporting Maya in XSI

Postby stukabomber44 on Fri Dec 16, 2011 8:54 am

Hey guys,

I'm really not wanting to relearn how to model in XSI since I know Maya quite a bit. Is there any way to export a model from Maya with the UV applied to the prop to XSI ?? I was partially successful is getting XSI to Source (didn't get the texture in properly yet, but the prop was there).

I haven't been able to find any tutorials on this...

Thanks,

Sb44
stukabomber44
Regular
Regular
 
Joined: Sun Nov 14, 2010 7:33 pm
Location: Canada

Re: Exporting Maya in XSI

Postby marnamai on Fri Dec 16, 2011 1:05 pm

Perhaps this is another method you might find interesting
[Tutorial] Maya 2011 and 2012 to Source
User avatar
marnamai
Veteran
Veteran
 
Joined: Thu Nov 10, 2005 12:17 pm
Location: Belgium

Re: Exporting Maya in XSI

Postby stukabomber44 on Fri Dec 16, 2011 3:15 pm

i did try that and it took me forever, also, i was not successful... various issues came up so i decided to go the xsi way which provedd to be much easier.. but i only got a basic box in.
stukabomber44
Regular
Regular
 
Joined: Sun Nov 14, 2010 7:33 pm
Location: Canada

Re: Exporting Maya in XSI

Postby peegee on Sun Dec 18, 2011 10:27 am

The common platform for exchange of 3D Data is called "Crosswalk" and can be downloaded free
from the autodesk site
http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet/item?siteID=123112&id=13525184&linkID=12544121
It provides the FBX and Collada standard from and into XSI (or Softimage 2011/2012)

You may export your data from maya into a collada file (.dae) or
into FBX (.fbx) and then import it into XSI (with crosswalk installed)

Hope this helps

P.S. If this do not help, try Wavefront OBJ (.obj)
"All things are difficult before they are easy." Thomas Fuller
User avatar
peegee
Regular
Regular
 
Joined: Fri Aug 28, 2009 10:54 am

Return to Custom Asset Help

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot]